Dish up the comfort food! (Chicken, Broccoli & Rice casserole with Cheddar cheese)

Chicken, Broccoli & Rice casserole with Cheddar Cheese

Chicken, Broccoli & Rice casserole with Cheddar Cheese

To day was definitely “one of those days”…you know, where you wake up already tired and though nothing *major* happened, it just seemed like a bunch of little things went awry from beginning to end.  I spilled stuff, dropped things, work apps weren’t working, getting my butt kicked in Words with Friends (haha)…I knew by 3pm that it was going to be a “comfort food” type of night and just happen to see a post for Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole earlier today that I wanted to try.  I personally have nothing against Velveeta or Cheese Whiz, but I never cook with it so I was happy to see a version that used real cheese.  I of course took my liberties with the recipe (when do I not?) and came up with  a slightly altered version that I am really happy with!

Eeerr…and I needed food STAT before I turned into an emotional basket case, so I skipped the oven time and just let it simmer a few minutes on the stove, it was awesome.

Chicken, Broccoli & Rice casserole with Cheddar cheese – serves 4 to 6

  • 1 TBLS butter
  • 2 uncooked chicken breasts – cubed/bite-size
  • 2-3 fresh broccoli crowns – chopped (you could also use 2 bags of frozen chopped broccoli)
  • 1/2 an onion – diced small
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning/Lawry’s seasoning salt (optional)
  • 1 can cream of chicken or mushroom soup
  • 1/4 cup Hellman’s (Best Foods) mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 6 oz. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 packed cups of cooked white rice
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. In a large skillet over medium heat, add in the first 5 ingredients and saute until the chicken is just done.
  2. Add in the next 4 ingredients and gently mix until well incorporated.  Add in the rice, blend well, and turn the heat down to low and let it simmer for a few minutes.
  3. Add salt and pepper to taste.

21 thoughts on “Dish up the comfort food! (Chicken, Broccoli & Rice casserole with Cheddar cheese)

  1. Seriously in my top five favorite meals. It’s already a regular at our dinner table! We love it!

  2. Leah – no, I do not pre-cook it in any way. If you chop it up into small pieces it will cook all the way during the baking time 🙂

  3. thanks for this recipe, been using the packaged version, but we like this much better, sometimes we omit the chicken and use as a side dish or main dish for a vegetarian(yikes) in the family

  4. I made my on the stovetop, but if you want to bake it, the original recipe says “Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes”.

  5. Great recipe! We loved it! I did find that if you use frozen broccoli it makes it a little runny. Next time, if I use frozen, I’ll probably omit part of the water. Regardless, it was still yummy!

  6. Pingback: {Recipe} Chicken & Broccoli Casserole | Life's Tidbits

  7. Pingback: Chicken, Rice, Broccoli & Cheese Casserole...I think Id substitute rotisserie chicken though! :) - FOOD BEA

  8. either way will work! If you cover it, it does stay a little more moist and the top won’t brown/dry out.

  9. Do you have to add the mayo? and can you substitute the shredded cheese for Velveeta? if so at which part would you add it?. Thanks in advance dish looks like a fall/winter meal to keep you warm!!!

  10. If you are using velveeta you can omit the mayo and just add it in towards the end. However, I’m not sure how much you would use as the texture/flavor of that is much different then real cheese, so you would have to experiment with that a little 🙂

Leave a comment