Brown Bag Series : Naan, Roasted Garlic Hummus, avocado & wild-caught sardines

bento2

This box has sort of a Mediterranean flair, a nice change up from the usual Asian food we usually have 🙂  Everything in the box is organic except for the dried apples and snickers.

We like these wild-caught sardines.  They are packed in olive oil, boneless, skinless and have a lightly smoked flavor.

pickled carrots –  I simply julienne 2-3 carrots (and daikon if you wish) and let them soak in a mixture of : sugar, vinegar, and water.  I like to use : 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup white vinegar, and just under a 1/2 cup water. Let the carrots soak for at least a couple hours before eating, store the remainder in the fridge.

roasted garlic hummus – very easy to make, I roast my garlic in the toaster oven and only use about HALF of what this recipe calls for. I usually make a double batch and have it as a quick lunch or snack option for the rest of the week.

naan – I just have this….”thing” for bread made on a griddle or in pan!  I make my own using this recipe, though honestly I think you can get away with skipping the “finish in oven” step.  Delicious hot and best eaten within a couple days. I do a 1/2 batch and cut it into 12 pieces, roll them out super thin and cook for no more then a minute on each side.

homemade snickers – candy making is a hobby of mine, so I won’t bore you with too many technical details (as it’s just easier to buy candy for most), but I loosely followed this recipe and added in a layer of homemade sea salt caramel.

The other parts of the box contain non-sorbate dried apple rings from Trader Joe’s, organic roasted/salted cashews from Trader Joe’s, and 1/2 of an avocado.

You can find the Ziploc brand lunch box here.  It’s my personal favorite as it’s leak-proof, large enough for adults appetites, and very affordable.

Leave a Reply

