Peanut butter cake with peanut butter frosting!

peanut butter cake with peanut butter frosting

peanut butter cake with peanut butter frosting

Like many out there, I love peanut butter and foods containing peanut butter.  From cookies to ice cream to Asian peanut sauce and Pad Thai with extra chopped peanuts, I’m a fan.  I rarely stumble across a peanut butter cake that doesn’t involve an overload of peanut butter cups (the candy),  so as soon as I saw this recipe for peanut butter sheet cake I just HAD to try it!  As usual I did take a little creative liberty with recipe, with my changes mostly being in the method of making the cake and in the frosting ingredient proportions.

The cake itself is fairly mild, moist and a little dense (in a good way).  What really makes this cake shine though is the FROSTING.  That’s saying a lot for me, as I’m usually the one scraping frosting off my cake as most are too cloyingly sweet for me.  This frosting though is so good and is just a nice change from the usual oh-so-sweet buttercreams.  If you have a favorite chocolate cake base this peanut butter frosting would go great with that as well!

Peanut butter cake:

  • 1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Frosting:

  • 6 TBLS butter
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 1/2 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  1. Line a 9 x 13 pan with parchment paper and lightly grease with butter or spray. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. FOR THE CAKE: Gently melt the peanut butter and butter together in a microwave safe mixing bowl, then carefully blend in the water.
  3. In a separate mixing bowl combine the sugar, brown sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt.
  4. Pour the peanut butter mixture into the flour bowl, add in the eggs, buttermilk and vanilla, then mix together really well.  Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 25 minutes.
  5. FOR THE FROSTING: In a microwave safe mixing bowl, gently heat the butter and peanut butter on low until just soft enough to blend.
  6. Once butters are blended, carefully stir in the milk and vanilla and mix in powdered sugar 1 cup at a time.
  7. Frost the cake once it has cooled.
7 thoughts on “Peanut butter cake with peanut butter frosting!

  1. Just wanted you to know that I made this cake for a friends 40th birthday party! IT WAS FANTASTIC!
    The only thing that I did different was that I doubled the recipe and made a 4 layer cake! For the frosting recipe, I doubled it as well but only used 4 cups of powdered sugar instead of 5. I would definitely make it again for a special occasion!

  2. I’m so glad it was a hit! It’s definitely well loved in our home and I’m so glad you got to share it on a special occasion!

  3. This recipe sounds amazing, I am like u, just love peanut butter, my question is what kind of flour, self rising, or all purpose. Thanks love….

  4. 😦 I went to three stores to look for butter milk, lol. All I could find was lowfat, I hope it still comes out ok. I’ll make it tomorrow. I cant wait!

  5. I’m sure it will! In the future, you can try mixing 1/2 TBLS white vinegar + 1/2 cup regular milk in a small bowl, then you let it sit for about 10 minutes. Then you can add it to the recipe in place of the buttermilk.

  6. Omg, this is the best cake I have ever made. It is perfect, I’ll have to make it again, everyone wants more. Thank u soooo much for sharing this recipe

Leave a Reply

