A delicious Baked Oatmeal that will convert even non-oatmeal lovers

Baked Oatmeal, photo from http://www.moneysavingmom.com

While visiting with family this weekend we got to talking about food (go figure), and someone mentioned “oatmeal”, which brought this recipe to mind!  If you are not usually a fan or the traditional runny/soupy oatmeal, but like oats, you MUST try this recipe!  It is not mushy at all and comes out more like a fluffy oatmeal crumble….if that makes any sense.  You can taste each individual oat, it is slightly firm yet soft at the same time, and the top comes out with a little crunch…it’s almost like eating dessert for breakfast!  This also taste great with milk poured over it.

I followed the recipe EXACTLY, but if I make it again I think I’ll add a little less sugar.  Just make sure to make this the night before you want it, as the oats need time to soak up all of the liquid.  The recipe is taken from Money Saving Mom, and in her post she describes how to turn this into a make-ahead “freezer” meal as well.

Freezer-Friendly Baked Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup raw sugar (or brown sugar)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons milk
  • 3 cups oats (regular or quick oats)

Beat eggs, sugar and butter together. Mix in baking powder, vanilla, cinnamon and salt.

Stir in milk and oats. Pour into a greased 9×13 foil pan or baking dish and cover well.

Leave in the fridge overnight. In the morning, bake at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes, until set in the middle. Serve with milk.

Serves 6-8.

5 thoughts on “A delicious Baked Oatmeal that will convert even non-oatmeal lovers

  1. Oh my goodness! I will definitely give this recipe a shot with friends and family over~ It looks and sounds delicious and you’re right, I could not seem to wrap my mouth around the soup oatmeal in the morning. Thanks so much!

  2. This looks almost like a granola. Sounds very tasty. Probably could add some dried fruit or nuts for that extra kick. Will have to try. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Ok I’m one of those people that just hates oatmeal. Even as a kid I could never get past the slimy gooiness of it so I have memories of a lot of tears at the breakfast table. Now as a grown woman (just turned 51) I’m making brand new memories of tears because my doctor and my husband both have been trying to get me to eat oatmeal for health reason….can’t do it. UNTIL THIS RECIPE!!!!! I LOVE this stuff!!! I was very skeptical I’ll admit, but I made a batch last night, baked it this morning and I cant believe how good it is….primarily because the sliminess (is that a word) is gone. My husband is thrilled that I’ll finally be getting my daily oatmeal. I did cut back on the sugar just a little, used low fat milk, and added some raisins , but I’ve got a yummy heart healthy breakfast! Thanks so much for posting!

  4. Mildred – that’s wonderful!! Making homemade granola is also a great way to get in oats, flax meal, bran, etc… I have a couple recipes here on the blog, but there are TONS out there on the web and it’s a great cereal alternative 🙂

Leave a Reply

