I’m back, I think…and Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars recipe

Oatmeal Peanut butter Bars with Firm Chocolate Frosting

Oatmeal Peanut butter Bars with Firm Chocolate Frosting

I can’t believe my last post was a year and a half ago!  No, I didn’t stop baking, cooking or living for that matter….I just found myself with less time for all the things I wanted to do!  It’s  just been a really hectic time juggling family, finances, and nurturing my budding business, Kawaii Goodies. However, while cruising around pinterest for new sugary goodies, I found myself REALLY missing the writing & sharing aspect of cooking and baking…plus I really need an outlet for my personal rambling besides my husband!

Now that being said, it’s not as if the speed of my life has slowed down much.  In fact, it’s ramping up again as I anticipate opening up my other business, Bliss Candies, in the next week or two.  So am I back to blogging and posting recipes?  Only time will tell, but I sure do miss it!

This past week I tried out a recipe that I originally saw posted on here.  In the original photo they looked a little on the dry side, so I did adjust the recipe slightly to try and moisten them up a little.  The end result?  They did seem to hold together better and not be as crumbly and overall these were decent bars, but not my favorite.  They were still a little on the dry side and were not quite as sweet as I would have liked them, with a mild peanut butter flavor.  Personally, I think increasing the amount of chocolate chips and omitting the powdered sugar & milk all together would have been better, unless you like the taste of frosting (which I usually don’t).  However, if you DO like frosting then the original topping is pretty good, and best of all it firms up, so you can actually stack the bars if needed and they will travel pretty well.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars with firm Chocolate Frosting, adapted from this recipe:

 

1 cup softened butter
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
generous 2/3 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
scant 2 cups flour
scant 2 cups oatmeal

*Frosting ingredients:

1 cup powder sugar
1/4 cup peanut butter
2 to 4 Tbsp milk

12 ounces milk or semi chocolate chips

 

1. In a large bowl cream together the butter and both sugars.  Add in the eggs, 2/3 cup peanut butter, and vanilla, mix well.

2. In another bowl mix together the oatmeal, flour, baking soda, and salt.

3. Combine the dry mix with the wet ingredients until everything is moist, then press into a 9 x 13 pan and bake at 350 for 20 minutes, or until lightly golden.

4. Remove the pan from the oven and set on a cooling rack.  Then start on the frosting.

5. For frosting: gently melt chocolate chips and peanut butter either in the mircrowave or over low heat on the stove. Once the mixture is melted, add in the powdered sugar and milk, blend well and spread evenly over the cooked bars.

4 thoughts on “I’m back, I think…and Oatmeal Peanut Butter Bars recipe

  1. Pingback: Sometimes I surpise even myself! « The Mindful Wife

  2. I’m perplexed.. I followed the recipe exactly but the bars were still soupy after 20 minutes in the oven. I baked them another 20 minutes. They look a lot cakier than the picture also. Hopefully they turn out ok (they smell fantastic, that’s a good sign.. we’ll eat them with a spoon if it comes down to it).

  3. oh no! I have no idea why they be so soupy…I looked over the recipe again and everything does seem to be correct, how did they turn out??

  4. I also followed the recipe to he letter the bars were ok but the icing was poor ended up clumping…everything melted great in microwave and then when I added powder sugar and milk it clumped into a dry separated mess. had to throw it out.

Leave a Reply

