Summertime Tuna Pasta Salad

I’ve been making for years, at least a decade or so….my how time flies!  Mt first exposure to this type of salad was back when I worked at a mall and Macy’s was still called Dayton’s.  On my break times I’d sometime go up to the the Dayton’s Marketplace and get a small container of Light Tuna Pasta Salad, I loved it so much I tried to re-create it at home, as it was quite expensive on a “retail associate” wage, lol.  And contrary to my previous post and how I like my soups, I prefer my pasta salads to be on the “not-so-creamy” side.  For the most part I always use LESS dressing then what any pasta salad recipes call for, so if that gives you a hint…

Of all the pasta salads I’ve tried, this one is definitely still one of my favorites and in the “don’t make it often as I’ll eat it ll in a day” category.  It’s light and refreshing, perfect on a hot summer day, for a picnic lunch, or for the beach!  The celery is a MUST, even if you normally don’t like celery (like me) as the added crunch adds so much to this salad…that and the sweet burst of peas along with the comforting flavor of noodles and tuna, YUM!  Surprisingly, even though this has 2 cans of tuna in it I do not find the flavor to be overly “tuna-y”, but if you are a bit hesitant start wit just 1 can. Oh, and if you are not a big fan of mayo based dressings you should still give this a try, trust me.

You could also lighten this up by using reduced fat mayo.

Summertime Tuna Pasta Salad:

  • 3/4 cup Hellman’s or Best Foods mayonnaise (this is key in keeping the salad non-creamy)
  • 1 can of flaked tuna-drained
  • 1 can of flaked tuna- UNDRAINED
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 stalk of celery-diced
  • 1/2 cup onion-diced
  • 8 oz elbow macaroni-cooked al dente and drained
  • 1 cup frozen peas-thawed

Directions:

  • Add the first 8 ingredients in large mixing bowl and blend well.  Taste and adjust the salt, pepper, and sugar level to your liking.  The dressing will look a bit watery, this is ok.
  • Add in the noodles and peas, blending well to make sure all of the noodles are covered in the dressing.  Cover and refrigerate for an hour.
  • Un-cover and mix the salad well to re-distribute the dressing, then cover again and refrigerate for another 3 hours before serving.
  • This can be made a day ahead for picnics and such, it taste’s even better on day 2!
4 thoughts on “Summertime Tuna Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

