Let Them Eat CAKE…with Homemade Coconut-Pecan Frosting!

I have to admit, I’m not a huge cake and frosting fan, but my hubby and oldest daughter LOVE German Chocolate cake and always request it for their birthday. So 2-3 years ago I found a recipe on how to make it homemade, and I have to say, it was VERY good but a bit time intensive. In all honestly it’s the homemade frosting that I thought was the highlight, so I semi-cheat by using boxed cake mix (using milk instead of water) and slathering it with the homemade Coconut-Pecan frosting, YUM!!! I load mine up with toasted coconut and pecan pieces, so much so that it’s more of a chutney then a frosting, as it doesn’t spread very easily, lol. But of course you can adjust the amount of coconut and nuts you add in to your liking!

The cake and frosting recipe can actually be found on the same page, it is called German Chocolate Cake with Coconut Pecan Frosting. I used only 1 stick of butter for the frosting and toasted the coconut and nuts before adding it into the pot. Also, make sure to bring the heat up on the frosting VERY slowly, I kept mine on low for at least 6-8 minutes, or else you will end up cooking the egg yolks and tiny yellow pieces will be floating around in your frosting. And of course whisk often! Lastly, my frosting takes at least 20 minutes to cook on the stove to my desired thickness, so don’t be alarmed if it seems to be taking forever….I think once it took me 30 minutes even. But it’s a simple recipe and just needs to be stirred frequently in the beginning, after that you can let it simmer fairly un-attended. Trust me, this frosting is just divine and the sweetness level is perfect.

Leave a Reply

