Whole Wheat Double Chip Blondie Bars

I have to admit….I’m a big fan of whole wheat flour. So when I saw this recipe for a Whole Wheat Blondie I just HAD to give it a try! For those of you who are not familiar with what blondies are, they are basically the non-cocoa based cousin of a brownie. They are dense, chewy, buttery, and are usually made with brown sugar, giving them a slightly carmel-y tasting background flavor.

I made a couple small changes (of course).

  • If you like a denser, more compact bar, omit most or all of the baking powder
  • I upped the nuts to 1/2 cup and didn’t toast them
  • I cup the sugar down to 1 cup, and think that is the perfect amount

All in all I thought this was a great bar, though it is a bit different due to being all whole wheat. If you are not sure about liking that aspect of it, try using 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I personally enjoy the distinct taste it lends to the bar….it makes the flavor a bit more complex and “deep”, and just a bit more wholesome tasting. I honestly think the pairing up of butterscotch chips and whole wheat flour compliments each other very nicely.

Leave a Reply

