All Natural Lemonade Drink Syrup

There is just something about spring and summer that has me craving lemonade! My whole family loves fresh lemonade, but sometimes I just feel like taking the effort to make it. So this weekend I hunted for a lemonade syrup that I could make ahead of time, and then just add water to it when the mood strikes. I love the idea of homemade drink syrups, as they are easy to make and I know EXACTLY what’s in it, unlike the powder drink mixes you get at the store.

The homemade version is all natural and you can adjust the recipe easily to your liking, just keep in mind that it won’t keep for more then a week or 2 as there are no preservatives.  The recipe below is for a fairly balanced tasting lemonade, not too sweet and not too tart.  I actually am not sure how much lemonade this will make once you add water too it, and even if I did it would not be accurate for most as we like a bit diluted.

Quick tip: If you make a huge batch or don’t think you can use it all up within a week or 2, freeze it! A great way to do this is to pour the syrup into an ice cube tray, then once they are frozen pop them out and store in a freezer safe plastic bag.  If you don’t have enough lemons on hand, try adding lime juice to the mix!

Lemonade Syrup Recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cups water
  • 2 to 2-1/4 cups fresh lemon juice
  • zest from 2 lemons (optional)

Directions:

  • In a small pot heat the water until it is simmering.
  • Add in the sugar and stir until it is fully dissolved.  Turn off the heat and allow the mixture to cool.
  • Once the mix is cool add in the lemon juice and zest and stir well.
  • Pour mixture into an air-tight container and keep refrigerated.
  • To make lemonade: I suggest roughly 2 TBLS of syrup for every 6-8 ounces of water, but again, adjust to your personal preference.

p.s. the picture above is not one that I took personally, but from google’s image files.

2 thoughts on “All Natural Lemonade Drink Syrup

  1. Hi Wendy! No, I haven’t tried the Strawberry drink, but it sounds a lot like a strawberry lemonade with just a dash of vanilla 🙂 I just love strawberry lemonade though and will try it soon, as I just planted some strawberry bushes in our garden!

Leave a Reply

