Gingerbread Waffles with Homemade Cinnamon-Orange Syrup

Gingerbread Waffles with Cinnamon-Orange Syrup and Chopped Pecans

I found this recipe as I was looking for a traditional waffle to make for my daughter, as she likes having them for breakfast on school days. I make up a whole batch, allow them to cool, then place them in ziploc bags and freeze. Anyways, I LOVE gingerbread and one of the reviewers said they paired this with a Cinnamon Syrup….well now, that sounded just too tasty to pass up.

As usual I found it hard to stick to the recipe, this time because I was too lazy to whip egg whites and putting mustard in them just sounded too weird. I made the syrup as written, but would only use 1-1/2 TBLS flour next time, as it was just a little too thick for me. Oh, and I used 1/2 tsp of orange extract in place of the vanilla extract.

I have to say, the first couple of bites I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the more I dug in, the more I liked it! It is just such a far cry from the standard “waffles and syrup” that it takes a couple bites for your taste buds to wake-up and realize “hey, this is a waffle?!? Different but SO GOOD!” Needless to say, I polished off my 2 waffles in no time 😉 They do come out more tender then the traditional waffle, almost a little cake-like. However, if you want them sturdy like the norm just don’t add in as much liquid; keep the batter really thick (this is how I prefer them). So here’s my version, adapted from Gingerbread Waffles.

Easy Gingerbread Waffles-makes about 9 waffles:

  • 2 tsp white vinegar mixes with 3/4 cup milk OR 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1-1/2 cups white flour
  • 1 TBLS baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1-1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 molasses
  • 1-1/2 TBLS vegetable oil or melted butter
  • Cinnamon Syrup (recipe above)
  • chopped pecans for garnish (optional, but I think the nuts really makes these great!)

Directions:

  • If you are using the vinegar & milk mixture- pour both into a glass measuring cup (or small bowl), stir well and set aside.
  • Plug in your waffle iron and allow it to heat up while you get the waffle mix made.
  • Combine the first set of ingredients into a large mixing bowl (flour through salt) and mix well.
  • In another bowl, cream the brown sugar and egg together; then add in the molasses, oil, and milk. Mix well and combine with dry ingredients, mix until most of the lumps are gone.
  • Pour about 1/3 – 1/2 cup of batter into each side of the waffle iron, then cook as usual.
  • Serve while hot topped with syrup, nuts, or whipped cream.
2 thoughts on “Gingerbread Waffles with Homemade Cinnamon-Orange Syrup

  1. Oh so good. Made these this last weekend and they were a big hit. The cinnamon syrup was very good too. I did not use the orange extract though. I used the vanilla extract it called for. Though it only made 5 waffles for my waffle maker. But you only need one, except for the guys. So next time, I would probably double the recipe and freeze whatever was left.

Leave a Reply

