Glazed Lemon Cake from Scratch-no mix needed!

Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake from scratch

Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake from scratch

This past weekend I was craving Lemon Cake, which is a good way to use up all of those lemons from sam’s club. I did not have a recipe for it, but I love lemon and have no idea why I don’t have one! So I’m thinking finding a good one will take no time at all, as it’s a fairly popular flavor and not too complicated, right? Well, I did find many, but it seemed that all of them called for starting out with a lemon cake MIX, what?!? Seriously, recipe after recipe called for a boxed “mix” or lemon pudding, but I wanted to make was one from *scratch*. I’m ok with mixes and such, but I didn’t have any of that stuff on hand.

Well I wasn’t about to give up, as when I get a craving it doesn’t go away, so 20 minutes or so later I finally found this recipe for INCREDIBLE LEMON CAKE! I made it in a bundt pan and it turned out GREAT, even with the changes I made based on what I had available to use and the shortcuts I took to speed things up a bit. Did I mention that I’m impatient??

Oh, and I recommend allowing the cake to cool completely before digging in, as the acid in the lemon needs the time to mellow out a bit. We had some while it was still warm and it tasted good but a little harsh, but not when it was cool. This didn’t last more then 2 days, yum!

Here is my version adapted from the recipe mentioned above, you can easily make this a lemon poppy seed cake by adding in about a 1/2 TBLS of seeds with the dry ingredients:

Glazed Lemon Cake Recipe-1 bundt cake:

  • 1 TBLS white vinegar
  • 3/4 cup + 2 TBLS milk
  • 16 TBLS melted butter (2 sticks)
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 large eggs, room temp
  • 3/4 cup fresh lemon juice-divided
  • 1 tsp lemon extract (optional-if you want it really lemony)
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • scant 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • about 2 TBLS lemon juice

Directions:

  • Combine vinegar, milk and 1/4 cup lemon juice in a bowl and set aside.
  • Grease a bundt pan then dust with flour, tapping out any extra. Set aside. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Cream butter and white sugar together in a large mixing bowl, then add in the eggs and mix really well.
  • Pour the milk mixture, 1/2 cup lemon juice and lemon extract into the mixing bowl and blend.
  • In a separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients-flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.
  • Pour the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, make sure to mix together completely until smooth.
  • Pour the batter into the bundt pan, tap it on the counter a few times to release any air bubbles and smooth the top over so the batter is nice and even.
  • Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a cake tester/toothpick comes out clean.
  • Allow the cake to cool for 7-10 minutes, then gently tap it on the counter to loosen the cake. Place a cooling rack over the cake and flip it over, so that the cake it released onto the cooling rack.
  • Stir together the powdered sugar and lemon juice for the glaze, add in more juice for a thinner glaze. (I like mine really thin like a semi-clear glaze and covering the whole cake)
  • Glaze the cake by slowly pouring the glaze onto it, or use a large spoon to drizzle it on (my preferred method).
39 thoughts on “Glazed Lemon Cake from Scratch-no mix needed!

  1. This is a wonderful recipe, I have tried it and I must say that this is really delicious! The measurement and the flavor is absolutely exact and it is very easy to do. One of my friends who works for a coffee machine makers suggested that this works well with a cup of hot espresso. Great post! Thanks.

  2. Finally a lemon cake from scratch!! I can?t wait to try this recipe, it sounds yummy!!

  3. Why would you use a vegetable spread? You would definitely alter the taste as butter has much more flavor than the veg spread. If you’re making a cake, you will want as much flavor as you can get and the calories are not going to be less. If you want a healthier oil, use coconut oil, but veg spread – NO!

    I’m going to make this for my daughter’s birthday.

  4. Would this make enough to use in three cake pans? I’m trying to make a 3 layer cake, not a bundt cake, with raspberry preserves in between the layers, and homemade frosting. This is my first time baking a cake from scratch, so I just wanted to be sure = )

  5. it should be just fine as a layered cake, just keep in mind it’s a bit heavier then traditional “cake” batter. You just need to equally divide the batter between 3 pans, and you will also need to adjust the baking time 🙂

  6. i love lemon cake……. i did indeed use this recipe, but i didnt have alot of lemons so i used the juice from a lime and added a little more lemon extract. i also used a raspberry cream cheese frosting i made from scratch…………..yumm……………mmmy! thanks so much for this.Oh yeah…i used cake flour instead. 🙂

  7. Pingback: Baked Recipes

  8. Just love these posts…I just came back from my daughters with a bunch of lemons and wanted to make a lemon bunt cake..I started looking for a recipe, the way I bake, no cake mixes, and there you are Viola…I will make it tomorrow and let you know how it turns out.. I have to agree with Linda (9)..don’t use vegetable spread Courtney (5)..no..no..no use BUTTER..Courtney you didn’t let us know how it turned out.. I just checked the dates on these posts and wow it was almost a year ago.

  9. I am making this cake on mothers day. I was thinking about using buttermilk instead of regular milk will that be okay. Thanks

  10. Hmmm well!!!! for my taste it isn’t as lemony as I thought it would be, however I did not have lemon extract. It also did not look like your photo. Mine was more dense. So if I did try it again I would have some fruit and their juice with it. I like a more juicy desert I guess. I will try it again tomorrow and see what I think then. Yes…so much to do and so little time… 🙂

  11. it should be ok, though it may come out more dense. I personally like dense cakes, but if you prefer something a little lighter I would stick to the liquid mentioned in the recipe 🙂

  12. Vivian – as for the denseness, you could also try aerating it a bit by using a hand mixer for a couple minutes when blending the wet ingredients. That should give you a “lighter” cake as more air is whipped into the mixture. Then just make sure to *gently* fold the dry ingredients into it.

  13. I’ve been looking for a non-mix lemon cake for *ages* (we’ve got a lemon tree in the yard, which produces fruit year-round). Didn’t have any extract, so I zested one of the lemons & used that instead. The cake is in the oven now; keeping my fingers crossed!

  14. I added the zest of one whole lemon in with the dry ingredients, and if you really LOVE lemon cake, it gives that extra boost of flavor. This was an easy dream recipe, and I loved the results! You can also add raspberries or blueberries to the batter as well, just add about 5-10 minutes baking time. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us!

  15. I love to make thing from scratch whenever possible & lemon bunt cake is my dad’s favorite. I made this for fathers day yesterday & it turned out fantastic!! This one is going in my keep file for the future. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

  16. I just made this cake as I was looking for something from scratch. I did add two ingredients though. I added a tablespoon of lemon zest and 2 teaspoons of stale tumeric for color. The cake is so moist and lemony! My kids and hubby love it and want me to make it again! Thanks for a wonderful recipe that didn’t come from a box. PS: for the person with lemons year round try making your own lemon extract. That’s what I used for this cake.

  17. Hi.. I saw your recipe on Pinterest and made the cake immediately after seeing it. I also added lemon zest and must tell you that this cake is so delicious! I’ve now added this recipe to my family’s cookbook. I am very choosy as to what recipes make the cut on this book and this one made it in there with flying colours. I served this cake with home made blueberry sauce on the side and man oh man it was to die for. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.

  18. Pingback: Moist Lemon Cake with Glaze (Organic) | Chemical Free Recipes

  19. Thanks so much for the great cake recipe. My husband loves lemon cake for his birthday, and especially liked this recipe when served with homemade blueberry sauce and whipped cream:) I didn’t have fresh lemons, so I used bottled lemon juice and added 3/4 tsp. of essential lemon oil. I also added a package of cream cheese to the glaze and felt that it balanced the flavors well. I waited until after we tasted the cake to write the recipe down, but this one is a keeper! Yummy, lemony, dense, and moist. A definite must for the lemon lover!!

  20. Mine is the oven now, can’t wait to see how it turns out. For those who don’t know, if you ad vinegar to milk it turns it into buttermilk. Any cake with buttermilk in it is usually a success because of the moistness and denseness it imparts. Thanks for posting this recipe, love that it’s finally one from scratch!

  21. Just tried out this recipe. Thanks, it worked out well. I added lemon zest to my glaze, which added a nice bit of texture. 🙂

Leave a Reply

