MMM…Funnel Cakes at home!

I’m *almost* ashamed to admit this, but I’ve NEVER had a funnel cake before, even though they seem to be a staple “theme park” *& “fair food” here in MN. Oh, I’ve stared longingly at the Funnel Cake booths numerous times, but just never got around to purchasing one. So my hunt actually started out as one for a good donut recipe, but I quickly realized that the kind I like are the fluffy yeast donuts and those require something I am not very fond of….rising time. Twice to be exact, which is just not *instant gratification* enough for me. I mean, I would have to REALLY like what I was making to wait for it to rise twice. Just as I was about to lose hope and throw in the towel, I remembered FUNNEL CAKES! Something I’ve always wanted to try and really, how much time could it take, right? I mean, it fried batter topped with gobs of powdered sugar for goodness sake! Plus, so much CHEAPER to make your own.

I’ve made them twice now, and have to preface this with a reminder that I have *nothing* to compare these to, as I’ve never had a Funnel Cake before. But in my humble opinion, these turned out quite delicious and so easy. Plus, you can keep the leftover batter (leftover, haha) in the fridge and just pipe some out whenever you want a quick treat. Oh, and if you don’t have a funnel don’t worry, I don’t either and just used a ziploc bag with the corner cut off.

Lastly, you can make these turn out 2 different ways:

  • Light, crisp, and airy: cook them until golden brown on each side and use 1/3 cup cream and 2/3 cup water.
  • Slightly crisp and a little more dense/doughy (how I like it): cook until lightly brown on each side and use 1/3 cup cream and just over 1/2 cup water.

Homemade Funnel Cakes Recipe (makes approx. 1/2 dozen 6 inch round cakes):

  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream (please see note above)
  • generous 1/2 cup of water (please see note above)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 TBLS of sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • powdered sugar, jam, chocolate syrup or cool whip for toppings
  • cooking oil for frying

Directions:

  • Heat roughly 1/2 inch of oil in medium sized pan or pot, making sure it is a bit larger then the size cakes you want to make.
  • Meanwhile, whisk the egg, cream, vanilla and water together in a large bowl and then set aside.
  • In a different bowl, mix together the sugar, flour, baking powder and salt, then combine it with the liquid and mix well. The batter should be fairly thick, a little stiffer then pancake batter.
  • Pour the batter into a quart sized ziploc bag and seal it up. Set the bag upside down (sealed side on the bottom) in a bowl and snip off a corner with a scissor, just under a 1/2 inch wide.
  • Test the oil by putting a drop of batter in, if it starts sizzling/cooking right away then it’s ready. If it gets browned almost instantly then the oil is too hot.
  • Make sure to pipe the batter fairly close to the oil to prevent splattering. Starting from the center, pipe the batter in a swirl design (circles) until it is roughly 5-6 inches round.
  • Allow the cake to cook to your desired consistency (see notes above) and then flip it over to finish cooking. Once it’s done place it on a parer towel lined plate to absorb the extra oil (I pat it down as well to get even more oil out) and then top with desired topping and enjoy while warm.
Leave a Reply

