Canned Pumpkin-they are not all the same!

2 different brands of canned pumpkin

2 different brands of canned pumpkin

I honestly don’t have too much to say on this topic, but thought it would be worth noting that if you DO bake/cook with canned pumpkin, they are NOT all the same! I made the mistake of buying a different brand then normal (Libby’s) and I have to say….it wasn’t what I expected =/ Sure, I could have used it and it probably would have been ok, but I didn’t really want to risk it and who wants the throw away a batch of cookies?

As you can see, the one on the right looks more firm (less water content) and has a deeper color. The toher one was definitely runnier and had a lighter color, golden pumpkin I think it was called. I’m sure it would have been ok, but I didn’t have the time to figure out how to adjust my recipe and compensate for the flavor/texture.

So just a word of warning as it is becoming that time again when canned pumpkin flies off the shelf….stick to what you know and like!

Leave a Reply

