Fresh Popped Parmesan Popcorn-so addictive!

I will be the first to admit, I am usually NOT a popcorn fan, bagged or movie theater. I just don’t get what all the fuss is about, honestly! But each night it seems I pop a bag for the others as we watch a movie or a tv show, and if I have anyI prefer mine with some grated Parmesan cheese So anyways, the other day my daughter was telling me how she had fresh popped popcorn at her friends house and that it was so much better then the microwave bagged kind, and insisted that I try it out. Well, being a little skeptical I sort of poo-poo’ed at it, but while we were at the store yesterday she reminded me of it as we passed the popcorn section. Frankly, a bag of corn kernals is so cheap it wasn’t worth bickering about, so I picked up a bag and I have to admit, at this point I was a *little* curious.

So later on in the evening I decided to give it a try, not the best night to try it as it was hot a humid, but hey, it was worth it! It’s hard to describe really, but fresh popped really IS better…my husband calls it “heart-ier” and I would have to agree. It is still light, but not light as a cloud like the bagged popcorn….there is actually some substance to it. The flavor is also deeper and nuttier, think fire-roasted or grilled corn, vs. plain ol’ boiled corn. It was actually VERY simple to do and the best part is, you can fix it just how you like it!

Just make sure you allow the popcorn to sit for 1-2 minutes before digging in. I think it is better once it’s had a short time to cool, as the texture and “chew” does change a little.

Fresh Popped Parmesan Popcorn-for 2 hungry people:

  • 3/4 cup corn kernels
  • 2-3 TBLS cooking oil
  • 1-2 TBLS butter-melted
  • salt to taste
  • grated Parmesan cheese OR wedge of cut parmesan cheese (I prefer the wedge myself)

Directions:

  • Pour in just enough oil to cover the bottom of a stock pot or soup pot, bring it up to med-high heat.
  • Toss in 1-2 kernels to check the oil temp, it should start sizzling right away. When the oil is ready, pour in the kernels, making sure they evening cover the bottom of the pot. Put a lid on the pot and agitate it a little, moving it back and forth to get the kernels moving.
  • Allow the popcorn to continue popping with the lid on; once the popping slows down considerably (where there is only about 2-3 pops every second), it is almost done. Turn the heat off and keep the lid on for another 30 second to allow the last of the kernels to finish popping.
  • Take the lid off, drizzle a little butter all over and shake in some salt. Mix it around and give it a quick taste, when the salt is right go ahead and add in the desired amount of grated Parmesan cheese.  If you have a block of Parmesan cheese, go ahead and and just the on the wedge along with the popcorn, this is my favorite way!
  • Allow it to sit for 1-2 minutes, then dig it!
Leave a Reply

