Quick & Easy Cheesy Stovetop Scalloped Potatoes

Where’s the picture you say?? Yeah, we scarfed it all down before I remembered, sorry! Next time, next time…

Mmmm…scalloped potatoes, one of my comfort foos for sure! Well really, almost any potato dish fits that bill, but cheesy potatoes are best! I know that you can make the ones out of the box, but there is just something so much better about homemade ones! Being realistic though, we are in the hottest part of summer and running the oven for an hour or more for the traditional scalloped potatoes dish just isn’t in my families best interest…the house gets hot, the AC has to work extra hard, and I get crabby because it’s getting uncomftable, you get the picture.

So just for kicks I decided to look for a recipe online and see if I could convert it to a stovetop method versus the oven. I did happen to find an easy looking recipe, but was a bit skeptical, as it called for cream of mushroom soup, which is a version I’ve never tried before. Don’t get me wrong, that stuff is like my best friend when it comes to cooking, but I had just never tried it with my cheesy potatoes. Well what the heck, I give it a whirl.

These are just fantastic, at least we thought so! Creamy, cheesy, and best of all, super fat to put together with minimal ingredients. So if you are in a pinch for time, and even if you’re not, give these a try and see what you think! The recipe below is an adaption of Scalloped Potatoes, which I found on recipezaar.com.

And of course my usual disclaimer…I cook by sight, not really by measurement, so adjust the ingredients according to your taste buds!

Quick & Easy Creamy Stovetop Scalloped Potatoes-serves 4-6:

  • 6 medium red potatoes, sliced about 1/8 of an inch thick
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup finely diced onion
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil, enough to cover all of the sliced potatoes. Allow them to cook for just 3-4 minutes, you just want them to be al-dente (still slightly under-cooked). Boil then longer then a few minutes if need, but be careful not to over cook them tooor they will get musy and fall apart once the dish is done.
  2. Gently strain the water outr of the pot, put it back on the stove over medium heat and add the cream of mushroom soup and the diced onions. Gently stir this aroun until the soup is heated and evenly distributed over the potato sliced.
  3. Add in the sour cream, cheese, and a little salt and pepper. Stir gently and give it a taste. If it taste too strongly of mushroom soup add in a little more sour cream. If it needs more cheese, go for it!
  4. Also, if it seems TOO thick to your liking, you can thin it down with a little water.
  5. Serve while hot and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

