Low-Carb Twice Baked “Potatoes” or Loaded Mashed “Potatoes”

Loaded Mock Mashed Potatoes with Green onion, bacon, and cheddar cheese

Loaded Mock Mashed Potatoes with Green onion, bacon, and cheddar cheese

Ahhh…where would us low-carbers be without the all-mighty CAULIFLOWER? Now before you start thinking that this is just another “mock mashed potato” recipe, it’s really not! I personally am not a big fan of the traditional “mock” potatoes,n the ones where you puree cooked cauliflower, ugh. I remember when I first started watching my carb intake I was SO excited to try them, as everyone raved about them! So I tried 2 or 3 recipes, all of which I have never made again, no thanks. Here’s a couple things I’ve learned along the way about “mock” potatoes-they tend to be runny, overly strong in flavor (not in a good way), and just NOT like mashed potatoes 😦 Perhaps I was doing it all wrong, as millions of “mock” lovers can’t be wrong, can they?

In any case, here is a recipe I found that I LOVE and goes well with anything you’d serve up with mashed potatoes. They are rich, creamy, flavorful in the *right* way, and I promise everyone will like them, I would choose these over normal mashed potatoes any day! They key is to use FRESH cauliflower (not frozen) and to drain it well. So when cauliflower goes on sale, grab a couple heads for this dish! And remember, my measurements are approximate, so just adjust as needed to suit your taste buds. Oh, and it’s the cream cheese that makes them so creamy and rich, so cut back a little if you want something a little lighter.

Mock Loaded Mashed Potatoes or Twice Baked Potatoes-serves 6:

  • 1 large head of cauliflower, chopped bite-sized for faster cooking and easy mashing
  • 6-8 slices of bacon
  • 2 green onions/scallions thinly sliced
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 4-5 oz. cream cheese-softened
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Bring a large pot of water to boiling, add in the cauliflower and cook just until tender.
  • While the cauliflower is cooking, fry up the bacon until nice and crisp. Drain on paper towels and crumble. Set aside.
  • Once the cauliflower is done cooking, drain it really well and then put all of it into a casserole dish.
  • Add in the bacon and all of the remaining ingredients and mash with a potato masher or you could use a hand-held mixer. I personally do not like mine overly mashed, as I like the different textures.
  • Once it is mashed to your liking, place in the oven or toaster oven at 350 degrees and cook until nice and hot, about 20-25 mins.
3 thoughts on “Low-Carb Twice Baked “Potatoes” or Loaded Mashed “Potatoes”

  1. I just made this with a few changes. I used double-smoked Polish sausage instead of bacon (it’s what I had on hand), added a tbsp. Dijon mustard and I sauteed a finely diced red onion and threw that in instead of the scallions. Wow, this is such a tasty dish. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

  2. Oh and I forgot to say that I added about 3 cups of organic baby spinach too. My husband absolutely went nuts over this dish and had to have seconds. 19 year old son loved it too. Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

