Organic or Non-Organic Beef at Rock Bottom Prices

During our move my husband and I debated if we should bring just 1 of our standing freezers, or both. Yes, it’s a lot of freezer space and a lot of items do go “missing” in there, but the main reason why we have it is for the beef we buy directly from the rancher. If you have a family of 5 or more, I strongly urge you to consider buying from the rancher directly, as they can give you a GREAT deal on the meat, but you have to usually buy at least a 1/4 cow at a time. We’ve never had trouble eating it all up before it goes bad, and really it can last for up to a year in the freezer without any freezer burn and still tastes good.

This is especially a good option for those who like to eat organic beef, as we get ours from an organic farmer and it is just as cheap, if not cheaper, then buying the hormone raised beef from the grocery store. Ranchers will usually quote you a flat rate per pound for the entire 1/4 or 1/2 cow, like $1.89, and that will include a mix of cuts. This includes t-bones, strip steaks, round steaks, pot roasts, ground hamburger etc. To me that’s a great deal, as it means hamburger is $1.89/lb (still cheaper then the hormone filled hamburger at the grocery store), and so are the T-Bones! Of course you don’t get very many of the better cuts, but you get a decent array in your package.

Try looking around for a local farmer or visiting your farmer’s market, as often times they will have a booth there. The more local the better, as that means you can go pick it up and not have to pay delivery charges. Heck, the farmer we used (Braucher’s Sunshine Harvest Farm) lived about 45 minutes away and drove it to us, now that’s service!  To find a local farmer try looking up “organic beef MN (or whatever your state is)” or “beef ranches MN (or whatever your state is)”.  Even if the ranch you find doesn’t list that they sell 1/4 or 1/2 cows, try contacting them anyways and asking!

2 thoughts on “Organic or Non-Organic Beef at Rock Bottom Prices

  1. Hi! I just ran across your blog via ETSY and wanted to say THANK YOU so much for this wonderful blog about cheaper ways to buy beef! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I can’t believe I never thought of this. I grew up in San Diego (long ago when people still hitched up their horses at the grocery store), we had a few acres of land, and my parents actually *shared* a cow with one of our neighbors. And yes…it filled my Mom’s freezer for a long, long time! We had lots of animals, including chickens for fresh eggs, but all I remember about the cows were that we weren’t allowed to name them! I think my Mom was afraid we’d all become too attached!

    I purchase all organic food for our family and it is sooo expensive. This would be such an immense help for us financially as we are struggling along with everyone else in this recession. It has been so hard for us to continue to make what are important decisions for us (buying local and organic foods) and not break the bank these days.

    We currently live in Raleigh, North Carolina and I am going to call around first thing tomorrow morning for a local farmer who would be willing to sell us half of a cow!

    In California, I kept an organic vegetable garden, which was wonderful, but gardening in NC is very, very difficult. The soil is all wrong and Raleigh is a city in a forest with too much humidity and too little sun. I miss my garden desperately and it’s really a challenge to find fresh produce here.

    Just as an aside…I worked as an Art Director for many years in the entertainment industry (animation) in Los Angeles. I had an amazing career and it was a wonderful life, however….I always knew that if I had kids, tv wouldn’t be part of our lives at all. My husband (of nearly 19 years now) and I have 2 terrific kids and we live by the law of SIMPLICITY and I can’t imagine life any other way. It’s peaceful and full without needless distraction away from the really simple special things life has to offer.

    You have a great blog and just made a huge difference in our family’s life!

    Thank you again!!

    Kindest Regards,
    Eve

  2. Eve-thanks so much for the wonderful comments!! It’s amazing how sometimes we get so trained to thinking a certain way and towards certain products etc…that we forget that there are other alternatives! Heck, I bet the person who thought of single-serve powder drink packets (sized for water bottles) is laughing at us while making a fortune, LOL. I would love yo buy organic, but the sheer cost of it makes it almost impossible for us =/ But we do the beef and are going to try the milk soon, did you see my post on that and stretching it??

    As for gardening, try looking up some sites on “container gardening”, there’s tons of good info out there and it seems people have had a lot of success with it! I know you can’t get all of the same veggies to grow indoors, but you’d be surprised at what people are trying out these days and what’s working! Maybe I’ll do a post on that one day soon!

    And yes, we love the simpler life as well. Sometimes we miss tv and living in the city etc, but we much prefer it this way and honestly, life itself provides us with enough drama!

Leave a Reply

