A Great Site for Low-Carb Recipes & Easy Fruit Dip

I personally think each person, each body, is a little different.  Some do well on a “balanced” way of eating, others do well on “eat whatever I see” way of eating (so jealous of my husband), yet others respond well to controlled portions of protein.  I, on the other hand, find that I do best on a low-carb and low-sugar way of eating.  If I want to be really diligent, I also go as natural as possible, sticking to core/base ingredients and making things from scratch at home, so it is not riddles with preservatives, high fructose corn syrup, starches, and all of the other hidden ingredients that most mass produced foods have.   The low-carb/low-sugar way of eating works well for me in two ways; I actually do lose weight on it AND I am not nearly as lethargic after eating.  I find that when I mix my carbs with proteins I get extremely tired after eating, which is why the Suzanne Somers eating philosophy works really well for me.

So, all that being said, where do I go for inspiring recipes for my meal planning?  Because let’s face it, sometimes low-carb is a bit challenging, especially if you are not very creative.  I personally go to lowcarbfriends.com, which has a TON of recipes on their forum, as well as comments and feedback.  You can even rate the recipes you try.  The other site I go to is basically a “vault” of all the recipes submitted by those who have followed the Suzanne Somers way of eating.  For those of you who are not familiar with her way of eating, it is not necessarily low-carb, but rather not mixing certain foods together and keeping to whole grains and natural foods.  So as you look through the recipes just keep in mind that they are not all “low-carb”, but the vast majority of them are.  In fact, most of my recipes come from here and I love making my own dressings vs. store bought, they just taste so much better!  I’ll have to share a couple with you in another post, as I swear, some days all that gets me thru is a couple good reuben rolls with homemade 1000 island dressing, YUM.

Oh, and if you are looking for an easy fruit dip, give this one a try!  I had it tonight with baked plantain chips (not low-carb I know, but I love them) but it would be good with pretty much any fresh fruit.

Easy Fruit Dip: simply blend together 2 parts cream cheese to 1 part sour cream, then sweeten with splenda or your preferred sweetener to taste.  That’s it!

Leave a Reply

