How My Life Changed Over a Couple Weekends

This past weekend we attended the funeral of my husband’s 11 year old cousin, who has been battling Leukemia over the past 2-3 years.  Funerals are always tough, but I think even more so when the person is so young.  You know, you think about all of the memories he/she didn’t have a chance to make yet, the experiences that they should have been able to take part in but never got a chance to, etc…  It’s at these times that I really have to take stock of who I am, what I am doing, and why.  Is it worth it, am I looking at the “big picture”, how about just letting the little things go and not sweating the “small stuff”?  At times things just seem so out of focus ad it’s good to get re-centered every so often.  And no, you do not need to wait for something drastic in life to happen before you do so, but often times that IS what leads us to take action.  We are all saddened by his death but are comforted in knowing we will see him again in heaven.

The other thing I have learned this past weekend comes from spending a weekend up at our new house.  We are sort of living at 2 houses right now, as we are waiting until the end of the school year to complete our move.  But in the meantime, we have taken up a truckload of stuff, as well as a couple car loads here and there.  We spent last weekend and Memorial Day weekend up at the new house, just trying to unpack and situate what we can before the last of it goes up.  I have to say, I love the fact that it is not cluttered and is clean and really we don’t have a lot of distractions to overload our senses.  We did have the laptop so we could watch movies, but no computer or tv or gaming consoles etc…  It was just ourselves with a couple packed outfits and toiletries, a bed to sleep on, couch to sit on, and a few simple meals.  We spent time just hanging out and relaxing as a family, reveling in the cleanliness and peace that it brings, and soaked up a lot of sun while listening to birds and feeling the breeze!

And I have to say, after 2 weekends of that, I actually do NOT want a computer upstairs!  At first I thought it would be a good idea so I could get work done upstairs too, but if we did that then I’d always be working, just like now!  I have a hard time walking away from the computer, as there are so many things to do and research and blog etc… but there’s so much more to life and I’ve been missing out a little, so I’m looking forward to balancing out my life a bit better.  There are so many projects that I would love to tackle, for me, for the kids, for the family…but there never seems to be time as the computer is a constant distraction.  If I’m forced to go downstairs to use it, I’ll think twice before sitting down in front of it.  Besides, it’s good to separate work life from home life, especially for those that work from home.  And as a person who constantly has to be doing something, like me,  it takes a great amount of discipline to walk away from the “office” for the night!

Leave a Reply

