Beef Enchilada Lasagna & Homemade Enchilada Sauce recipe

Beef Enchilada Lasagna

Beef Enchilada Lasagna

It seems that I have been making a lot of Mexican dishes lately and I’m not really sure what that’s all about! All I know is, if I don’t start cooking Asian food again my husband is going to be leading an uprising! But it’s ok, as I’m getting a little burnt out on the Mexican inspired dishes and would actually welcome a hot plate of rice topped with some Asian deliciousness. But before I get to that, I had some corn tortillas left over from the Fish Tacos last weekend and decided to use them instead of wasting them. We still have quite a few left, but I’ll be turning the rest into baked tortilla chips tomorrow.

So for tonight I was going to make beef enchiladas…the only problem was, no enchilada sauce. Now, to my thinking, and lack of cooking Mexican beyond tacos, I figured that the sauce always has to come out of a jar. You’re cringing right now, I just know it. However, I ran across a beef enchilada recipe where the sauce is made from scratch, and it didn’t look too hard. I just decided to go for it and out of laziness I ended up layering everything (instead of filling each tortilla and then rolling it up), thus I now have a Mexican Lasagna of sorts. In my defense though, I did make the sauce from scratch instead of pouring out of a can or jar, so in my mind that redeems me a little.

The spices listed below are approx. measurements as I just sort of tasted as I went along and would add a little more of whatever was needed. It comes together quickly and is fairly cheap to make and like most Mexican inspired meals, this would be great with shredded lettuce, sour cream, lime wedges and Spanish rice on the side.

Beef Enchilada Lasagna recipe (serves 6-8):

  • Enchilada Sauce

  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 Tbls cayenne pepper or 1-2 Tbls chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 6oz. can of tomato paste
  • 3 beef bouillon cubes
  • 2 small cans of diced green chili’s
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Directions:

  • In a large stockpot (I used a wok) melt the shortening over medium heat. Add in the flour and stir, allow it to cook for a minute or so until it starts to turn a little brown. You can then add in everything else down to the green chili’s (green chili’s included). Stir well to get the water incorporated and allow that to cook for a few minutes so the flavors can blend together.
  • In the meantime, brown the ground beef and onions in a different pan until the beef is fully cooked and onions are soft. Add all of this right into the enchilada sauce and give it a good stir.
  • Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spray a 9 x 13 baking pan. Take a little bit of the sauce and spread it over the bottom of the pan so the tortillas don’t stick. Take 2 tortillas and lay then into the pan side by side, then rip a 3rd tortilla in half so they fit to the side of the whole ones. Ladle on some sauce and spread it all around and repeat this process once more. I added half the cheese after the 2nd layer and the rest over the top layer, so 4 layers of tortillas and sauce total.
  • Cover the pan with foil and bake in the oven for about 20-25 minutes, or until hot and cheese is melted.
2 thoughts on “Beef Enchilada Lasagna & Homemade Enchilada Sauce recipe

  1. Made this last night. It turned out good. It had plenty of sauce which we like. I used just a little more cheese and topped it with sour cream as pictured. Served shredded lettuce topped with some leftover seasoned corn on the side. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

