Quick Bialy’s and other random notes

bialy1

Onion Bialy with cream cheese-YUMMY!

Have you ever had one of those weeks where you know you were constantly busy, yet thinking back you’re not really sure what you did? Well, it’s been one of those weeks for me! I seemed to have done a little bit of everything, which is probably why I feel like I accomplished nothing! All I remember from this week is an excess of teenage presence in the house (spring break), making lots of cupcake shape cake truffles (eating them too, love the chocolate cake ones!), working on the Bliss Candies catalog sheet and making Bialy’s…oh, and I did work some, but not much. I console myself on that point by reminding myself all of the candy making IS considered work, as I am now trying to take a go at selling some of it.

But on to these Bialy’s! Now, I’ve never had an authentic one, so really have nothing to compare them too, but rumor has it they are suppose to taste like a bagel…and I do love bagels! I’ve looked into making bagels at home, but am a bit intimidated by the process. Earlier this week though I was reading through Smitten Kitchen’s blog (oh yeah, did a lot of that too this week) and found her recipe for Bialy’s, so I decided to give it a try!

I pretty much followed her recipe, but once they were shaped and laying on the baking sheet for the 2nd rise, I only let them sit for 20 minutes or so. However, she said that if you poke at it and the indent stays, then it has risen long enough, and my indent stayed after just 20 minutes. If your house is on the cool side, try pre-heating the oven for just 1-2 minutes, shutting it off and then letting the dough rise in the oven.  Oh, and on the first rise I only waited an hour. Hence my name of “quick” Bialy’s. I admit it, I can be very impatient and usually don’t do well with recipes that need to “rise”. Heck, my teenager was pestering me on when they’d be done and trying to hurry me up, as soon as she smelled the onions cooking she was sold! So with 2 females dying to try one out, smeared with extra cream cheese…an hour and 20 minutes rise time was pushing it.

Un-cooked Bialy ready for the oven!

Un-cooked Bialy ready for the oven!

The dough will be VERY soft and sticky, so make sure to flour your hands a bit before shaping them. Don’t poke a hole through it, as it’s not a bagel! Rather, make a slight indent in the middle with your fingers and gently expand the indent to make at shallow well, to put all of the yummy onions in! Baking time took a little longer for me, closer to 13-15 minutes, but it could be because I didn’t allow the oven to pre-heat for 30 minutes. I’m not sure how much my rush affected the texture, but we were very happy with it. They had a nice crust and were just a little less chewy then a bagel and just as sturdy. I personally would NOT add more salt to the Bialy mix, and actually I think next time I’ll put just a little less.

All in all these turned out awesome and are CHEAP to make, both my teen and I finished off the Bialy’s in less then 24 hours. So if you are trying to cut down on carbs (like me), this may not be the recipe to try.

2 thoughts on “Quick Bialy’s and other random notes

  1. These look so good. Too much work though. Maybe some day when I dont have to work anymore!(dream on) When my sister was a young adult, she worked at a jewish synagogue in CO. and they would let her have their left over bagels. They were the best. I had never had one before, and havent had one as good since. Have tried many, cant find any good ones. Yours looks good though.

  2. oh, they really are good! I am usually an earely riser, so on Saturday morning I usually get a batch started and by the time the others are up they are about ready 🙂 It’s not as hard as you think, they just need “rise” time. So I’ll brew some coffee, throw in the ingredients into the standing mixer and set the timer for 7 minutes. By the time they are ready for the first rising I’m about ready for my second cup of coffee out on the deck 🙂

Leave a Reply

