Cake Pops Project-Too Cute!

cakepops2

My 1st attempt at making cake pops

I’m always up for a new challenge, and yesterday I happen to stumble upon Bakerella’s Flickr photos. As soon as I saw the “Cake Pops” I fell in love, just look at how cute they are hers, not mine)!! So being the patient person that I am, I run out to the store right away to get a few supplies and dived right in. If you go to Bakerella’s Blog, you can find the recipe and some step by step instructions. I highly recommend trying the “cupcake” shape first, as it is a bit easier to coat with chocolate then the perfectly round circles (like the chicks). Mine obviously are not nearly as good as Bakerella’s, but practice makes perfect, right? And really, not too bad for a 1st attempt.

truffle-like cake mixture shaped like a traditional square

truffle-like cake mixture shaped into a traditional candy square

Here’s what worked well for me and what I’ve learned so far:

  • I didn’t want to use as much frosting as called for, as I didn’t want to make mine too sweet. So I decided to make the cake extra moist by adding more water to the mix and making my own homemade frosting, extra runny. It worked great, I only had to use the equivalent of 1/3 – 1/2 of a frosting recipe for the entire cake.
  • Red velvet cake is easiest to work with, the way it crumbs and cuts is just better. I let mine cool just a few minutes, then cut it up into small 1 inch squares in the pan to speed up the cooling process. After letting it cool a bit more I used a beater attachment to mix and break it all up into crumbs, worked beautifully!
  • Make sure to get the cake crumbs moist enough so that it is mold-able, almost like a truffle-like filling. If you’ve ever made Oreo truffles, it will resembles that (and if you haven’t, you should!). If you don’t have a flower shaped cookie cutter for the bottom of the cupcakes, just mold it with your fingers.
  • Working with colored candy coating can be a bit tricky. I’ve never used it before and find that it clumps more then normal chocolate coatings do. It’s also a bit thicker, and cools quickly, so you have to work fast. Though this is also an advantage at times, as it makes a great quick crying “glue” for whatever details you need to add.
  • If you freeze your cake shapes, make sure to allow them to thaw a little before dipping them. If you don’t, they may creak or “leak” once the candy coating hardens up. This happened to a couple of mine and so we had to eat them…such a shame, I know. Next time I will just refrigerate my shapes, which worked well for me today as I tried making traditional squares for candy boxes.
  • Make sure to have some sprinkles and such on hand…nothing like being excited for a project only to be thwarted by lack of supplies!

I’ll be trying these again, but I think I’ll focus on perfecting the “cupcake” shape before moving onto the other shapes. These would look great sticking out of a foam block inside a little flower pot or decorative glass cup (check your local dollar store), a great and unique gift idea!

3 thoughts on “Cake Pops Project-Too Cute!

  1. How cute and fun these look to make. A good idea for those with older children that arent into coloring Easter eggs anymore. (I never grew out of that stage, oh well) I’m sure they would get into making these, or at least decorating them, knowing they will get to eat one, or more. We have always been fans of red velvet cake. Happy Easter!

  2. They are very fun, but do take a little patience 🙂 I agree, great idea for the older kids and I would start them out on the cupcake shaped ones. Just make sure to keep an eye on them, or they may eat all the batter before they even get to finish the project!

  3. Pingback: Mini “Cupcake” Cake Truffle Bites « Choosing Simplicity

Leave a Reply

