Mother’s Day Sausage & Cheese Pie recipe

Mother's Day Sausage & Cheese Pie

Mother's Day Sausage & Cheese Pie

What is it about Mother’s Day that has people scrambling for “egg bake” recipes?? Because I’m telling you, most of the “egg bake” recipes I look up have at least a couple reviewers whom have commented that they made it as part of their “Mother’s Day” brunch menu! Well, after trying a few different versions, I’m not sure if I’m really an egg-bake type of person, so hopefully I don’t get it for Mother’s Day…though I’m pretty sure that would never happen seeing as NO ONE around here willingly cooks but me, haha.
Now brunch on the other hand, I think that’s a great idea! I love the idea of a relaxed meal, after I’ve had my coffee and have really woken up. It’s a great time for a meal as you can easily incorporate both savory and sweet offerings from 2 different meals, giving your eaters (including yourself) lots of choices to pick from! I happened across this recipe yesterday, as I was looking for something to make for lunch with the Italian sausage we had on hand, a non-pasta dish. I also had a frozen pie crust leftover from the holidays, so as soon as I saw this I figured it was meant to be. It turned out pretty tasty, even my husband liked it and he is not a fan of egg bakes either. This goes perfectly with a side salad and a crusty roll, yum! So next time you reach for an egg bake recipe, try this out instead for a something a little different. It’s an extremely versatile recipe that dishes up real pretty, worthy of a Mother’s Day brunch in my book.

NOTE: The great thing about this recipe is that it is very versatile to fit your personal taste! Use whatever veggies you want, just make sure to try and stick to the quantities listed or you’ll have too much filling for the pie shell. I think I’ll try it with asparagus next time and place some thin sliced tomatoes on top before pouring the egg in, how pretty that would be! Also, you could probably use frozen potatoes in place of the fresh, but I would go with the cubed rather then the hash version. The recipe below is a variation of the Italian Sausage Pie I found on recipezaar.com.

Mother’s Day Sausage & Cheese Pie recipe:

  • 1 9-inch pie shell
  • 1 medium potato-quartered and cut into 1/8 inch slices
  • 2 Italian Sausages
  • 1 1/4 cup total diced vegetables (try a mix of a couple of these: onions, mushrooms, green peppers, broccoli, asparagus
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • about 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Put the pie shell in during the pre-heating time, allow the bottom to firm up a little but don’t over bake. Take the shell out after 7-8 minutes and set aside.
  • Heat about 2 cups of water in small pot on high; then on another burner heat a skillet on medium.
  • Take the casings off the sausages and put it in the skillet.  Crumble it up with your spatula and allow it to cook for a minute or until some of the grease comes out.  At this point you can add in the diced veggies and give it a good stir.
  • Put the potatoes into the boiling water, allow them to cook for 4 minutes or so, just until they are tender.
  • Check on the sausage and veggies, stirring ever minute or so.  Once the potatoes are done drain them immediately and add them to the sausage mixture.  Combine everything well, add salt and pepper to taste, and turn off the heat once the veggies are tender and sausage is completely cooked.
  • Whisk together the eggs and milk in a small bowl.
  • Pour the sausage and veggie mix into the pie shell, spreading it out evenly.  Top with the shredded cheese and then slowly & carefully pour the egg mix over the entire thing.  Give it a good wiggle or two to let the eggs settle to the bottom, then place it in the oven for 30-32 minutes, until well set.
  • Cool for just a few minutes, then serve.
2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Sausage & Cheese Pie recipe

  1. Pingback: My Christmas Day Menu « Choosing Simplicity

  2. Pingback: My Christmas Day Menu : : Choosing Simplicity

Leave a Reply

