So…what did you do this weekend?

Peanut Butter Overload Blondies

Peanut Butter Overload Blondies

Twisted Caramel Turtles

Twisted Caramel Turtles

It was a blur of a weekend for me….not sure what all we did, but it just seemed busy and it flew by in a flash! I did a lot of cooking and obviously did a little baking and candy making, as I have pictures to prove it!

For a while now I’ve been looking for a quick and easy way to make Turtles, as I love the idea of them but not the thought of the sticky mess! So I fooled around a bit and found an easy way to make them, finally. It only took me months to come to thinking of it, and I decided to try it with pretzels instead of nuts. I made a batch of caramel and instead of using a 9 x 13 pan for cooling I used the biggest one I had, an 11.5 x 17. I lined a pan with pretzels evenly spaced out, cut the caramel into squares just big enough to cover the pretzels, then let them gently melt in the oven at 250 degrees for a few minutes. I then let them re-cool and dipped in chocolate as normal. They turned out pretty well, though next time I think more pretzel, less caramel. In any case, they still tasted great and have already been shipped out as part of a care package!

The other thing I made, also for the care package, were the Peanut Butter overload bars…also an experiment. My friend LOVES peanut butter and chocolate, and that’s actually their favorite cookie. I was going to send cookies, but decided that I wanted try something new and a bit different. I remembered that I had some peanut butter cup filling in the freezer, leftover from when I made homemade peanut butter cups. So I simply let it thaw (doesn’t take long), tasted it for freshness, and pressed it in between 2 sheets of wax paper. I then rolled it out into a layer thin enough to cover an 8 x 8 pan and re-froze it. I whipped up a batch of Peanut Butter Blondies with M&Ms, pressed half of the batter into the pan, put the peanut butter cup filling right on top, then pressed the remaining half of the batter into the pan. I have to say, for anyone that loves peanut butter cups, this hits the spot! It’s in bar form, not sickly-sweet like the candy (which only means you can eat more!), and is great for care packages as it’s nice and sturdy!

You could probably get similar results by using peanut butter cups themselves, I just happen to have the filling already made and it needed to be used. To make Peanut Butter Blondies, use this base recipe (first 6 ingredients listed), except cut the butter down to 4 Tbls and add in 1/2 cup peanut butter. Simply add the 2 butters together before adding in the brown sugar and if you want chocolate add about 1/2 – 3/4 cup.

Leave a Reply

