Thinking Outside of the “Box”

One of my favorite sayings that I once read out of a book said “There is more then one way into a castle”, and the character meant it in a figurative way. It’s the way I live my life and I can’t imagine what it would be like if I didn’t think this way! So what brought this on? Well, we’ve really been challenged these last few weeks with an on-going situation that just seems to keep dragging on….and on….and on! As soon my husband and I think it is almost over and taken care of (so we can finally take a deep breath)…another thing pops up that needs tending to, so frustrating! But if there is one thing I’ve learned about life, it’s that you can’t give up and there is (almost) always another solution…ie. another way into the castle.

I can’t tell you how many times “thinking outside of the box” and opening myself up to other options has helped us over the years. My husband will be the first to admit that he doesn’t excel in this area, but that I do, so I guess we balance each other out. Just at the time he is ready to throw in the towel and give up, I’m just getting started! If someone could peek inside my brain, it would look like a bunch of rabbit trails supposedly leading to no where, but eventually one of the trails does get to an ending and my persistence and tenacity pays off.

So this is just a word to those who feel like giving up, don’t! When you get frustrated just take a step back and come back to it later. Approach the problem via a new avenue (phone, internet, books, people, location, timing, etc…), learn to compromise, tap into your network of friends for ideas and resources, dig in and do some research, and don’t be afraid to ask questions! Even if it ends up not working out, you’ve learned a lot along the way that will help you with future situations and problems.

Leave a Reply

