Leftover Chicken & My Favorite Homemade Salad

All I need to make my favorite salad!

All I need to make my favorite salad!

For the most part we only buy whole chickens, as it’s usually cheaper that way then buying packs of specific parts (legs, thighs, etc). Sometimes I make Kittencal’s Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Chicken, as it is a 1 HOUR rotisserie chicken you can make in your oven and it turns out better then the store-bought! Or sometimes we them in our Asian soups, occasionally casseroles, etc. But every once in a while we have leftover chicken, but not enough to really make anything substantial out of. On those days I love to use it in a homemade salad, and this one is my favorites. Super simple, extremely tasty, and most will have all of the ingredients on hand.

  • a big bowl of lettuce (meal size)-I use iceberg or romaine
  • 1 batch of my favorite homemade dressing
  • cold leftover chicken, chopped or torn in strips
  • veggies of your choosing-I usually do broccoli and tomatoes

I usually make the dressing in a large bowl first (what I will end up eating out of), then toss the rest of the ingredients in and mix well.

2 thoughts on “Leftover Chicken & My Favorite Homemade Salad

  1. I also use my leftover chicken for salad. I like to take it for my lunch @ work. That way I eat healthy since I have to eat what I brought. I love salad though, so that is not a problem anyways. I also use the leftovers to make chicken salad for sandwiches. I like the bagged whole chickens that you just cook in the bag. I think the brand is golden plump. It has a pop up timer for when it is done. They have always turned out nice and moist for me. They have pre-seasoned ones too. I like the mesquite seasoned one best. I dont recall the $ to compare, but I dont recall it being too pricey.

  2. Sue-I love chicken salad sandwiches! We buy the chickens from Sam’s, as they are usually 0.80-0.90 cents per pound. When I make it in the oven it takes at least an hour, as the Sam’s chickens are big, but I just test doneness by pricking it with a fork and seeing if the juices run clear. I don’t put it in a bag or anything but it always comes out moist, try the Rapid-Blast recipe sometimes, it’s great!

Leave a Reply

