Ultra Moist Carrot-Pineapple-Coconut Cake & Light Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot-Pineapple-Coconut Cake with Light Cream Cheese Frosting

Carrot-Pineapple-Coconut Cake with Light Cream Cheese Frosting

Today was a great day! I got to sleep in until 7am, the sun was shining and the birds were singing! Finally, spring is coming and I couldn’t be more excited, it has seemed like an extra-long winter this year. Strangest thing happened though around 2pm, I started feeling really edgy and cranky, almost on the verge of a tantrum and tears. And in the midst of it, I craved CAKE. That’s right, cake, and I just knew nothing else would satisfy me. Then thinking about it a little harder I realized I hadn’t had any sugar yet for today, so does that mean I was going through sugar withdrawal? Honestly I’m not really sure, as I’ve never really thought about it and don’t know if I have something sweet daily, but it wouldn’t surprise me.

So I started digging through the pantry, trying to find any kind of cake mix that I could whip together. I did find some, but then there was the issue of frosting…which I didn’t have any of and I didn’t just want “plain” cake, how boring. So then I thought I could make my own, but the kind I wanted to make calls for cool whip, which I didn’t have any of. Now at this point I’m feeling pretty irritated, not only am I craving a big fluffy piece of cake with frosting, but I now realize that it will have to be a GOOD cake to satisfy me. *sigh*

So I go back to the computer and start nosing around on Recipezaar for something that looks tasty, and that I have all of the ingredients for. While doing this I get a call from my husband, who was on his way to pick up our teen from school. I mentioned that I was looking to make a cake and why, and he every so quickly chimes in “…you had better make a cake woman, I don’t want a crabby wife!! Should I go pick some up at the grocery store for you??” The funny thing is, he was serious and he had already ran a few errands today, making the offer that much more of a sacrifice for him. Now girls (and guys)…if only I had know before how easy it was to get a piece of cake out of my husband!

Ok, ok, getting back to my cake. I finally decided on a lighter, healthier version of this Carrot Pineapple Cake, , even though it was a bit more work then I wanted to do as it called for crushed pineapple and I only had a whole one (it had to be cut up sometime, right?). Plus it called for me to grate carrots and use my food processor…but what’s a girl to do, right?? Well I’m glad I did try it and the effort was worth it! It was a little too moist though, so I will use more flour next time (which I have already accounted for in the recipe below). I used applesauce in place of the oil, subbed in some whole wheat for the white, reduced the sugar and omitted the nuts. I also lightened up on all of the frosting ingredients and added a little milk, as I didn’t want it to be too stiff or heavy tasting. Give it a try one afternoon, I think you’ll be pleased with the result!

Ultra Moist Carrot-Pineapple-Coconut Cake:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour (I subbed in a little wheat)
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 3 eggs-beaten
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract AND 1/2 tsp coconut extract (or 1 tsp vanilla only)
  • 2 cups shredded carrots (about 3 large carrots)
  • 1 cup flaked coconut
  • 1 (8 oz) can of crushed pineapple, drained

Directions:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2 9-inch round pans and set aside.
  • Mix first 6 ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  • Make a well in the center and add the next 3 ingredients. Mix these wet ingredients a little before incorporating them with the dry ingredients, then blend everything together really well.
  • Add the last 3 ingredients, mix well, then evenly distribute the batter between the 2 pans.
  • Bake for 33-36 minutes, or until cake is set and is slightly pulling away from the rim of the pan.
  • Allow them to cool before removing them from the pans, then frost.

Light Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • 1 (8 oz) package of light cream cheese
  • 2 Tbls butter-softened
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 to 2 Tbls milk

Directions:

  • Blend the first 3 ingredients together with a hand mixer and slowly add a little milk until it reaches the desired consistency.
Leave a Reply

