Perfect homemade Bacon Bits

Homemade Bacon Bits

Homemade Bacon Bits

I know what you’re thinking, how could something so small and inconsequential merit it’s very own post, right? Well, I don’t particularly love eating salads, but if I’ve got bacon bits it’s all good! Thing is, I wanted to find a quick and easy way to make these little crunchy bits, as I don’t buy the commercial kind. I could fry them in a pan like normal bacon, but it’s a little messy (plus I have another pan to wash), and the texture doesn’t seem to come out quite right for a salad. So one day in the glory of my laziness, I decided to try microwaving the bacon, don’t ask me why. Lo and behold, 3 strips of bacon and 5 minutes later I had my crunchy bacon bits, I couldn’t believe it! We’re talking about that kind you simply poke with your finger and it instantly crumbles, PERFECT for my salad, I was so happy.

Now the cooking time will vary a little depending on how thick your bacon is, and perhaps how many slices too. I was using Farmland Hickory Smoked bacon, which is of normal thickness, and 3 slices (on a microwave safe plate of course). I cooked it for 3 minutes on one side, then flipped it over for another 2 minutes. Gently towel off the excess oil and crumble, that’s it!

***make sure you use a plate that can really withstand a lot of heat, I’ve broken a couple making these.  Perhaps use a few layers of paper towels instead?***

Leave a Reply

