Lionshead soup-a.k.a Wonton Soup in a Jiffy!

Lions Head Soup-a.k.a.Wonton Soup in a Jiffy!

Lions Head Soup-a.k.a.Wonton Soup in a Jiffy!

Asian food is definitely a staple in our house, not so much for me, but for my husband (who claims he is Asian “at heart”). Of all the Asian soups (see, here I go again about soup), I think Wonton Soup is probably the most well known here in the US. I’ve contemplated making it myself many times over the years, but just the thought of individually wrapping the little wanton pockets would quickly squash that idea.

Fast forward a few years and I stumble across this recipe called Lions Head Soup, which I just had to check out due to it’s name! It seemed easy enough and sounded tasty, so I printed it out and put it in my stack of “recipes to try someday”. Okay, fast forward another year or so and I finally got around to try it out. Man, did I kick myself for not trying it sooner, what was I waiting for?!? This reminds me so much of Wonton Soup, but EASIER! Really, those little wonton wrappers are over-rated, they are just for looks and add more calories.

I did adapt it a little for our tastes and sometimes we have it with Asian Yellow Noodles (like tonight) and sometimes we just have it as is (low-carb!). You could also have this with ramen noodles and it’s ready to eat in less then 30 minutes. And again, make sure you have a quality soy sauce and sesame oil, preferably from an Asian grocer, or the flavor may not come out right.

My version of Lions Head Soup (Wonton Soup in a Jiffy):

  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 Tbls soy sauce
  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbls cornstarch
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 Tbls fresh minced ginger OR 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 green onions-sliced thin
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 head or Napa Cabbage-roughly chopped (I used regular as that’s what I had on hand), 2 cups of raw Broccoli florets, a couple thinly sliced Carrots (all optional, use whatever veggies you’d like)
  • sliced green onion and cilantro (optional)

Instructions:

  • Combine the first 3 ingredients into a soup pot over medium heat.
  • Meanwhile, combine the next 8 ingredients into a bowl and mix with hands.
  • Gently drop meat mixture into soup, making them meatball sized. The key here is to put them in water that is NOT simmering yet, so that the meat doesn’t disperse too much. If it does that’s ok too, it will taste fine just not look as “pretty”.
  • Cover the pot and turn heat to low, allow it to cook for 15 minutes. Now add in any veggies you want and the soup is ready when they veggies have reached their desired tenderness. Drizzle the last 2 tsp of sesame oil into the soup pot and give it a good stir. Serve as is or with noodles, top with green onion and cilantro if desired.




Leave a Reply

