Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

Grilled Chesse with Pepperoni Sandwich

Grilled Chesse with Pepperoni Sandwich

I love the idea of a good grilled cheese sandwich on a cold and blustery day, which it was today (forlornly looks out at the 6 inches of snow). Honestly I don’t really remember when the last time was that I had one, so it felt like a good day to revive them. I do believe that your taste buds change as you get older, as the standard “white bread and processed cheese” sandwich just doesn’t do it for me anymore. So a couple years back I found a “secret” ingredient (a secret since i didn’t know about it!) that I think kicks up any grilled cheese sandwich a couple notches…

…garlic powder! It just adds a little something that really “wakes up” all of the flavors, and it tastes good in any version that I’ve made so far. The other thing I do different then from my childhood days is to use REAL cheese, not the processed cheese. My favorite version is with pepperoni, but there are tons of combinations out there that are great! The one pictured is made with 100% Honey Whole Wheat Bread, which has a nutty crust and melt-in-your-mouth underside, YUM!

Grilled Cheese with Pepperoni Sandwich recipe:

  • butter for spreading on bread
  • 2 slices of Honey Whole Wheat Bread (or any other bread of your choice)
  • 1-2 thin slices of sharp cheddar (enough to cover the bread)
  • 1-2 thin slices of swiss cheese (enough to cover the bread)
  • 12 small pepperoni slices (or a deli meat of choice)
  • thinly sliced tomato-about 4 slices (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp of garlic powder
  • salt and pepper (optional)

Directions:

  • Heat a frying pan on med-low.
  • Lightly butter 1 side of each piece of bread. Lay the buttered side of 1 piece of bread down on a plate. Stack the ingredients in this order: 1st cheese, tomatoes, 2nd cheese, garlic powder, salt, pepper (I only use garlic powder and pepper), then your meat. Top with 2nd slice of bread, buttered side facing up. ** I actually don’t know how much garlic powder I use, I just sprinkle in on directly from the canister, just enough to lightly cover the whole sandwich.**
  • Transfer the sandwich onto the hot frying pan and allow it to cook for a few minutes, you want the crust to get a deep golden brown color. Then gently flip the sandwich over until that side gets a nice crust and eat! **Be patient and don’t cook this on high heat, you want the slow cooking so that everything inside gets warm without the crust burning.**
2 thoughts on “Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

  1. I made some homemade chicken noodle vegetable soup last night and thought a grilled cheese sandwich would go nicely with it. I remembered this recipe and decided to try it. Glad I did! It was delicious. The only change I made was using turkey pepperoni instead of regular. Everyone loved it! Thanks for all the good recipes and ideas.

  2. That sound like a wonderful combo, and you always the best soups, I should know!! Perhaps you should create a blog yourself, if nothing else to share all of YOUR wonderful recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

