-Coconut Caramel Toffee Bars-YUM!

Coconut Caramel Toffee Bars

DCoconut Caramel Toffee Bars

If you are in the mood for something rich and buttery, chewy and caramel-y with a good dose of toasted coconut…then this is it!! The bar’s buttery texture paired with the toffee bits and brown sugar takes on a taste reminiscent of caramel, so good! These are so easy to make and are extremely versatile (add in whatever mix-ins you want), as the base recipe is that of a basic Blondie bar. I suggest cutting these into 1 x 1 inch bite-sized squares (almost guilt-free!), as you WILL be back for more! To make it an over-the-top dessert, try one warm with coconut ice cream…*drool*

These are best when still a little warm, as then you get the full effect of the smooth caramel-like flavor mixed with the warm buttery richness. Also, store these in an airtight container once cooled so they don’t developed an overly crunchy top.

Coconut Caramel Toffee Bars recipe:

  • 5-6 Tbls softened butter
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 tsp coconut extract (or vanilla for a more mild flavor)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • scant 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (optional-use it if you like a slightly lighter blondie texture, I omitted this)
  • 1/2 cup packed shredded coconut
  • 2 toffee bars-chopped (like Skor or Heath)

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly butter or spray an 8 x 8 baking pan, set aside.
  • In a large bowl cream the butter and sugar together. Then add in the egg, extract and salt, mix well.
  • Add in the flour and baking powder (if using), mixing well. At this point the dough will be pretty stiff, but don’t worry!
  • Lastly, add in the coconut and chopped up toffee bits. The dough will be really stiff, but just continue to work it in with your scraper or a wooden spoon.
  • Firmly press the dough into the pan and bake for 22-24 minutes, or until the top looks lightly golden. Allow to cool a little and then cut into little pieces.
2 thoughts on “-Coconut Caramel Toffee Bars-YUM!

  1. So I made these bars and think I overcooked them as they were slightly dry. They are still good and have good flavor but I dint have an 8×8 pan as mine broke some time ago and I havent replaced it yet. So I used an 11×7 pan and tried cooking 5 min. less, but they didnt look quite done, so I left them in for the full time. I shouldve pulled them out the first time. I will try again using less time, or maybe I’ll get another 8×8 pan. I used the brown sugar splenda again and the coconut extract. I love coconut extract. I use it when I make french toast. I did also use some of the baking powder, but only half of the listed amount. This could have added to the dryness too. I prefer the chewy type better. TTYL Sue

  2. Sue-I’m sure the different sized pan had something to do with it, and perhaps the baking powder as well, as it creates a less dense bar. If you like it dense and chewy, try it without the baking powder next time and I actually suggest making a batch and a half in your 11 x 7 pan. If you only use 1 batch in a pan that large I think it spreads the dough too thin, which also contributes to a dryer, harder bar.

Leave a Reply

