-That’s just not *natural*

About a year ago I decided to try and lose a bit of weight, and I actually stuck to a new way of eating for about 6 months. Eventually I’ll get back to the plan, but you know how it goes…it’s tough to be diligent about some things, especially since I love to bake. And well, a daily dose of baked goodies is not on recommended on ANY healthy eating plan, at least not the stuff I bake *sigh*. But I make a 1/2 to 1/4-hearted effort on most days…every little bit counts, right?

So anyways, part of the way of eating I switched to concentrated on reading food labels. No, not for fat content, but actually for what ingredients it contained. It was really about knowing what was in it and pretty much anything with ingredients I couldn’t pronounce (like chemicals) or highly processed foods (lots of trans fats, saturated fats, and large amounts of sodium and sugar) was a no-no. I honestly believe that all of the preservative and chemical-laden foods we eat really do have a negative affect on our health. Food is a sneaky business though, as the affect all of those un-natural chemicals have on you are not glaringly obvious.

So I started looking at everything before buying and realized just how BAD food is out there, even the stuff they label as “healthy”. Well, the alternative was to start making things from scratch, or close to it, which is what I decided to do. I figure, God made our bodies and he provided us with plenty of natural, wholesome foods to sustain us, so who am I to mess with that plan?

Getting back to my point and what reminded me of this…I sent my husband to the store to get sour cream the other day, I told to him to get whatever was inexpensive. Well, what I should have told him was to get the brand I like, as I like it for this simple reason: “Ingredients: Grade A Cultured Cream. Contains Milk. Grade A. No Additives”. The kind he came home with instead said “Ingredients: Cultured Cream. Skim Milk, Modified Corn Starch, Sodium Phosphate, Locust Bean Gum, Carrageenan, Sodium Citrate, Potassium Sorbate (preservative), Enzymes”. That’ll teach me!

Leave a Reply

