Glazed Donut Muffins

glazed donut muffins

glazed donut muffins

As I was cruisin around pinterest for bake sale ideas, I was reminded of this Glazed Donut Muffin recipe that I had pinned a few months back.  And since I was in the mood for something cake-y tonight, I gave it a go!

This comes together really fast and the 12 muffin cups will be pretty full, but don’t worry, it won’t spill over.  I baked mine for exactly 17 minutes, then let them cool for 10 minutes or so on a cooling rack sitting on top of a sheet of wax paper (so it can catch all of the glaze that drips).

Now, before you decide to skip the 2nd dunking that the recipe calls for, the muffin batter itself is NOT sweet at all.  It’s a mild tasting spice cake and with the double-dunking these come out with just the right amount of sweetness…and if you are a sugar fiend you may find yourself contemplating a 3rd dunking.  The amount of glaze will just barely be enough for each muffin to be coated twice, and to cut down on the mess I did let the extra glaze drip back into the bowl before setting the muffin back down.  And I found it easier to grip the muffins by taking the cupcake liners off. Yes, your fingers will get a little messy….but it’s a TASTY mess.

I’m sure I’ll be making these again and will follow the recipe except for increasing the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg, as I really like a stronger tasting spice cake. Oh, and I did add a couple drops of almond extract as well into the glaze, so good.

These honestly should be called something more like “spice cake muffins with donut glaze”, as the batter itself tastes nothing like a donut, but these definitely hit the spot and now my cake craving has been satisfied!

Mmmmm…I bet these would be awesome with a scoop of cinnamon ice cream too!

Leave a Reply

