To-Die-For Homemade Peanut Buster Parfait Sundaes!

Totally NOT my picture (as we wolfed ours down before I even thought of taking a pic!), but you get the idea....

Totally NOT my picture (as we wolfed ours down before I even thought of taking a pic!), but you get the idea....

Seriously, our family is not good news for Dairy Queen.  We’ve made delicious homemade copycat Blizzards and now AWESOME copycat Peanut Buster Parfaits, my husband says it’s so much better then the commercial version!  I owe this one all to my youngest daughter, as she was having a craving for hot fudge sundae’s and wanted me to take her to Dairy Queen, the only ice cream place for miles.  Well you know me….the first (and really only)  though that went though my head was “gee, how hard could making hot fudge sauce really be??”  So I grabbed a recipe with good reviews and 5 minutes later was rewarded with a sundae that totally hit the spot!

It was thick, gooey, and rich…which then made me crave caramel sauce too, lol.  And how can you beat the financial savings, right?!?

Super easy, fast and delicious, with just a little deviating from the original recipe simply due to what we had on hand to use.  I’m sure either one would turn out great, but for those who are curious, here is my version:

Homemade Peanut Buster Parfait Sundaes-feeds a family:

  • 1 TBLS butter
  • 2 TBLS water
  • 1/3 cup + 1 TBLS cocoa powder
  • 14 oz can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 TBLS Bakers brand melting chocolate or regular chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Lots of vanilla ice cream
  • 1/2 cup chopped peanuts or cashews

Directions:

  • On the stover over medium heat, combine the butter and water and stir until the butter is all melted.
  • Add in the cocoa powder and blend as well as you can, it will be a thick paste.
  • Add in the condensed milk and stir, stir, stir!  You may still see some cocoa “beads”, but just do the best you can to smoosh them out with a rubber spatula.
  • Once the mixture has gotten warmed through-out and mixed as best as you can get it, add in the chocolate chips and vanilla and stir a bit more.
  • Scoop some ice cream into a bowl, top with hot fudge sauce and peanuts, then enjoy!
  • Any left over fudge sauce can be store in the fridge or freezer.
One thought on “To-Die-For Homemade Peanut Buster Parfait Sundaes!

Leave a Reply

