Low-Carb Tuna “Noodle” Cauliflower Casserole

low-carb Tuna "Noodle" Cauliflower Casserole

low-carb Tuna "Noodle" Cauliflower Casserole

So I found some fresh cauliflower at a really good price last weekend and decided to make up one of my favorites, low-carb Tuna “Noodle” Casserole! It basically has all the same ingredients but replaces noodles with cauliflower instead. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed! Even my kids love this, though they still find it quite odd that they are eating cauliflower instead of noodles, lol. I adapted te below recipe from this Tuna Casserole recipe, found on recipezaar.com.

Again, frozen cauliflower can be used instead of fresh, but I really prefer to use fresh if possible. I just think the texture and flavor of fresh is so much better!

Tuna “Noodle” Cauliflower Casserole recipe:

  • 1 small head of cauliflower-chopped
  • 1 can cream of celery, mushroom, or chicken soup
  • 1-2 stalks of celery finely diced
  • 1/2 an onion finely diced
  • 1/2 cup cream or mayonnaise ( I used Hellmann’s mayo)
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese-shredded
  • 1 10oz. can of tuna-drained
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/3 cup cheddar cheese-shredded

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Bring a pot of water to a boil and cook the chopped cauliflower until al dente-just tender. Drain well and then place the cauliflower in a large casserole dish.
  • Combine everything else in the casserole dish along with the cauliflower and mix well. Top with remaining 1/3 cup cheddar cheese.
  • Place casserole dish into oven and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until bubbling.
  • Allow to cool for a few minutes before serving.
5 thoughts on “Low-Carb Tuna “Noodle” Cauliflower Casserole

  1. Looks so good! I’m on the hunt for a cauliflower recipe.. I don’t have any cheese on hand though.. hmm
    By the way, I really like your blog- it’s so user friendly! I’m still getting used to blogging.. :)

  2. This casserole is much tastier on the second day when the flavours have had a chance to blend. Delicious on day two.

  3. This was AMAZING! Just the sort of recipe I was looking for! I was craving tuna and also baked cheese like on a pizza (the one food I really miss) and was thinking this recipe would NOT be possible without pasta or rice, but I was WRONG!

    I didn’t have all the correct ingredients, but it still turned out AWESOME! I’ve just eaten the last little bit, and it was even better the second day!

    I only had half the amount of cauliflower in the fridge, used sour cream instead of cream (Imagine my shock when I opened the fridge and no cream – very bad keto girl!)

    I didn’t have any tinned soup, so just added extra sour cream and whole egg mayonnaise and couple of teaspoons of vegetable stock powder.

    Oh, also didn’t have cheddar cheese, so I used mozzarella LOL I would really recommend this type of cheese for this recipe – it was non-oily and gave a nice crunchy topping and not too salty – yum

    I have been on a Low Carb/ High Fat/ Keto type “diet” with my husband for the last three months. (He found the diet – what a great guy!!!) I have lost 15 kilos so far, (about 33 pounds) and my husband has lost 10 kilos. (22 pounds) He is nearly “done” – and looks so great (beer belly GONE) I have gone from an Australian size 20 down to a 14. (:

    I have 10 kilos to go to get to my goal and then I will see if I’m happy at that weight. When I can fit into size 10 clothing, that will be the “end”…… or is it the beginning…..? ;)

    We plan to continue on with the LCHF lifestyle from now on, it really suits us.

    Thanks so much for this recipe – I will be using it at least once a month from now on!

  4. I just put this in the oven. It looks amazing. I can’t wait to taste it! Thank you Thank you Thank you!

Leave a Reply

