Back to Lo-Carb and Garlic Mashed Broccoli Recipe

Garlic Mashed Broccoli with Grilled Chicken

Garlic Mashed Broccoli with Grilled Chicken

Well, I fell off the low-carb bandwagon about a yr ago, so I guess it’s about time I get back on! I was doing so well to, had lost about 30-35 pounds before I got tempted back to the carb-side. It’s a struggle though, as I am the only one in the house that is a low-carber, the others have great metabolisms and can eat anything, or perhaps age just hasn’t caught up to them yet. In any case, I’m going to give it a good effort again! To help things along (for you and me) I’ve made a category section just for low-carb recipes. Now keep in mind, I’m a low-carber, NOT a no-carber! So if you are on an extremely restrictive no-carb diet (which I just can’t imagine for myself), then please adjust the recipes accordingly.

Here’s my philosophy, and really it reflects how I eat and my level of self-control- if I can go 2 meals a day without a bite or 2 of carbs, I’m good to go. A bite or two meaning that I may have a added a little during the cooking process for thickening or flavoring, but not really for the purpose of just eating it (a little flour, cornstarch, french friend onions, etc). If I can go a 3rd meal like this, more power too me, as I know a carb-full meal is usually just around the corner. It can’t be helped, my family loves certain Asian dishes, and it would be almost un-human to eat it without rice or noodles. Plus, as a passionate baker I have to try all the goodies for quality and to adjust recipes etc…so don’t worry, I get my share of carbs! As I go on this journey (yet again) I’ll be sure to post some of the better recipes, the ones I hold onto dearly as they get me by when I’m craving a carb replacement like nothing else.

Below is the recipe I always go to when I need a replacement for mashed potatoes and don’t have cauliflower on hand. Have you ever noticed how expensive fresh cauliflower can be? It’s too bad, as there are TONS of great low-carb recipes using cauliflower that I love…like cauliflower pizza crust, cauliflower lasagna, scalloped cauliflower, mashed cauliflower, cauliflower “potato” salad (my favorite!!), cheesy cauliflower/veggie and bacon soup, ….but I digress.

Garlic Mashed Broccoli Recipe:

  • 3 handfuls of fresh Broccoli – approx. 3-4 cups
  • 1 Cup Chicken Broth
  • 2 Garlic Cloves
  • 1 Tbls Sour Cream
  • salt and pepper
  • Shredded Cheese-optional

Directions:

  • Combine the first 3 ingredients in a pot, bring to a simmer and cook until the broccoli is very tender.
  • Once the broccoli is done cooking, take the pot off the stove and drain the liquid.
  • Mash the broccoli, season with salt , pepper and sour cream and finish mashing. You can add in some cheese if desired.
9 thoughts on “Back to Lo-Carb and Garlic Mashed Broccoli Recipe

  1. Hi,
    I just stumbled upon your blog. Could you please let me know where I can find low carb recipes using cauliflower? You mentioned some, and they sound really good… Thanks…

  2. welcome to my blog! I used to follow the Somer-sizing (Suzanne Somers) method of eating, and though the forum I used to belong to is now no longer, you can find all of the contributed recipes here: http://j9ss.tripod.com/. There are hundreds of recipes, though there’s no search feature. Another place that is good to look that DOES have a search feature is: http://www.lowcarbfriends.com/recipereview. This where I found the cauliflower pizza crust and lasagna (taste just like the real thing, serious).

  3. Yea! I too used to follow a low-carb diet and obviously have fallen away. It is hard to find good low-carb recipes, so I am looking forward to your pre-tested recipes. Need to loose a few.

  4. Sue-try going to the site http://www.lowcarbfriends.com, they have a HUGE recipe section. Plus I think many of your favorites can be adapted to include a little less fat and carbs, just play around with the recipes a little :) Sometimes it’s a struggle to figure out what to eat, so I usually keep a food journal and record everything. Not so much because I want to be on a strict diet, but to look back upon to help jog my memory on some good dishes I’ve forgotten about!

Leave a Reply

