IHOP-Perkins Fluffy (Non)Buttermilk Pancakes recipe

One of our family traditions is a Saturday or Sunday morning breakfast, which usually consists of the standard “American” breakfast fare. You know, the eggs (any form, depends how lazy I am feeling), hash browns, bacon or sausage, sometimes fruit and pancakes. Now for the longest time I have been experimenting with pancake recipes, as I was determined to make some like the ones you can get at your local breakfast restaurant, like IHOP or Perkins. There is just something about those pancakes! So light and fluffy with this distinct background flavor, almost good enough to snack on plain….you know what I mean??  I actually gave up on making pancakes for a while as they never seemed to turn out, I was having the darnest time duplicating them!

Then one day I decided to try again and found this recipe for IHOP Buttermilk Pancakes on recipezaar.com, and they came out PERFECT, even with the slight substitutions I made (as I don’t normally have buttermilk on hand).  So if you are still searching for a good pancake recipe, give it a try.  Whether you follow the original recipe or with my slightly altered recipe below (if you don’t have buttermilk), they will both turn out great!

P.S. I make these at least twice a month, but don’t have a picture of them to post…but then again, they really are very exciting to look at, just exciting to eat! And if you want scrambled eggs that taste like the restaurants (which is usually liquid eggs), pulse them in a blender for a couple seconds before cooking them up. There’s a difference in the taste and texture, you’ll see!!

Dessert option: Who says pancakes are just for breakfast?? Make these in mini form and top them off with some chopped up nuts and toffee, or a chopped up Snickers, then drizzled with chocolate syrup, YUM.

Just-Like-Restaurant Fluffy (Non)Buttermilk Pancakes (makes 8-10 pancakes):

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 Tbls white vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cup white flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 Tbls oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg

Directions:

  • Pour the milk and vinegar into a small bowl, allow it to sit for a few minutes.  This is your buttermilk substitute.
  • Meanwhile, pre-heat a skillet over medium-low heat.
  • Combine all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and stir.
  • Add the egg and oil to the milk bowl, gently mix together.  Then pour all of the liquid into the flour bowl.
  • Mix the wet and dry ingredients together until most of the lumps are out.
  • Lightly grease the pan and pour about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake.  Allow them to cook slowly (it will take a few minutes) and flip once the bottom is golden and the edges start drying out.  Once they have been flipped they won’t take long to finish cooking, maybe another minute or so.


29 thoughts on “IHOP-Perkins Fluffy (Non)Buttermilk Pancakes recipe

  1. I made these using the original recipe and they turned out light and fluffy like you said. Its been a long time since I have eaten at Ihops, so I cant compare them to thiers. They are yummy enough to make again.

  2. Glad you liked them! The original recipe is great, I just never have buttermilk on hand, but we always have white vinegar and skim milk. Try it sometime the other way and see what the taste difference is, would be a good experiment!

  3. Pingback: Sour Cream & Buttermilk Substitution « Choosing Simplicity

  4. I never have buttermilk either so I googled “Non-Buttermilk pancakes” and this was the first thing to come up. I’m about to go fix them now and I’ll let you know what me and my family think! :)

  5. Pingback: Sour Cream & Buttermilk Substitution : : Choosing Simplicity

  6. I never really comment on recipes, but this one was awesome. I dont know what made the pancakes so sweet, (there isnt a ton of sugar in the batter) but theyre good enough to eat on their own without syrup. Loved it!

  7. A few weeks ago I had a craving for pancakes, but when I got to the grocery store they were (surprisingly) out of buttermilk. So I googled a few no-buttermilk recipes; first one, not so satifactory. A few weeks go by, I decide to have some as a treat for dinner, and oh. My. Goodness! Needless to say, I won’t need to try the last recipe on my list! These were absolutely delicious. I made mine with whole wheat flour, but I imagine the results would be the same with white. I stuck the leftovers in the freezer and can’t wait to pop a couple in the toaster for breakfast! Thank you for the wonderful (and wonderfully simple!) recipe :)

  8. Wow! I’m impressed. First time I made a homemade recipe for pancakes that actually came out right! Thank you so much. I’m SO saving this!!!!!

  9. Woah this recipe is amazing! These are the fluffliest pancakes I ever made!
    My family tries to eat super healthy, so I didn’t have the exact ingredients to make it to the point..
    (I had like whole wheat flour and brown sugar..) But it still tasted amazing!

    Sorry, I know how old this post is.. Didn’t mean to be the awkward 2012 poster.

  10. I am going to try this with whole wheat flour this weekend. I can’t wait had been looking for something without buttermilk that I could sub whole wheat with. Thanks.

  11. Sorry, these weren’t that good in my opinion, way too much sugar that kept causing it to burn.

    If you want good pancakes, you need buttermilk (in my experience). The best recipe I’ve found so far is from Better Homes and Gardens cookbook (the big plaid binder one).

    Buttermilk Pancakes
    1 cup all purpose flower
    1 Tbsp sugar
    1 tsp baking powder
    1/4 tsp baking soda
    1/4 tsp salt
    1 beaten egg
    1 cup buttermilk
    2 Tbsp oil

    ^ Mix all that stuff up there together and I’m sure you can figure out how to cook them ;)

  12. hi Ken! I’ve made these dozens of times over the years and never had that problem, so not sure why yours burned =/ I’m sure you tried this, but what happened when you turned the heat down? The 1/4 cup sugar should not have caused any burning problems and I know many others have tried this recipe with great success :) Sorry it did not work out for you though, thank you for trying it out!

  13. You can use vinegr or lemon juice for your buttermilk sub.. However, you can also freeze buttermilk, put 1 cup servings in freezer containers or freezer bags, then just thaw when you need one!

  14. Made these tonight and they’re great! I normally have buttermilk on hand, but what I had in the fridge today had gone bad. I had to double the recipe for my family and I am glad I did because they put a hurting on them! I looked at the link for the original recipe and I noticed that there is more oil and more buttermilk. I think the texture of this recipe was great and I do want to try it with the buttermilk but I think I will just sub it in your recipe rather than go off of the original. These were a great success, thank you!

  15. hi Rachel! I’m one of those “can never just follow the recipe” kind of girls, I always end up changing it somehow! The lower amount of oil added was, I’m sure, my way of trying to healthify it a bit, but the baking powder…I think that was an honest mistake! I must have overlooked it and since they turned out well I never gave it another thought, lol. I’m so happy to hear your family was pleased with them!

  16. sorry about the confusion! the oil is to be mixed in with the batter, you’ll need additional oil or butter to grease the pan for cooking.

  17. This is coming all the way from the south of India. I lived in the US for 5 years and pancakes were a staple- be it IHOP or Hungry jacks.. Have been missing it a lot since the last couple years. That led to today when I woke up with an urge for pancakes. :) it came out great. I was so excited that my counter top and stove top are decorated with a lot of batter drops. Thanks!

  18. OMG!These are awesome!I never understood why Americans always talk about fluffy pancakes.(no IHOP in my country).The recipe is workable as buttermilk is not easily found where I live.

  19. Yummy!! sweet and buttery. Of course I always have to add my own touch; 1 teaspoon vanilla. Thanks for the recipe, I don’t keep buttermilk or boxes of pancake/biscuit mix around the house.

  20. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your blog.

    It seems like some of the text within your posts are running off the screen.
    Can somebody else please comment and let me know if
    this is happening to them too? This might be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Thanks

  21. I think it has to do with your browser, though I’m not sure how you would go about fixing it, so sorry!

Leave a Reply

